1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IE8 Ate my site!

Discussion in 'HTML, Graphics & Programming' started by wonder_lander, 2 Oct 2009.

  1. wonder_lander

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,535

    Location: Stone, Staffordshire

    Any ideas why my site layout is borked under IE8?

    http://the-pier.co.uk/

    It's not a template that I designed so I have no idea how to fix it!
     
  2. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,864

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Not that you will possibly be that bothered but it also appears to be all over the shop in Opera.

    The content ( About Us, Add a Comment etc ) has been shifted down and to the bottom right of the entire page for some reason.
     
  3. CliffyBiro

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Mar 2008

    Posts: 26,305

    Fine in Safari 4.0
     
  4. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,864

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Errr, the content is also in the same place in IE7 on my machine here, it's not meant to be like that, is it?. :confused:

    [​IMG]

    Looks fine in Firefox.
     
  5. wonder_lander

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,535

    Location: Stone, Staffordshire

    Nope, not supposed to be like that at all!

    Not sure what's gone wrong. It was fine on IE7 but if it's now broken then maybe I did it with something I have done!?
     
  6. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,864

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Another quick screenie of how it looks at the top of the site page in IE7 :-

    [​IMG]

    Do you edit it/make any changes yourself, is it CMS based or something?.
     
  7. wonder_lander

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,535

    Location: Stone, Staffordshire

    It's a wordpress site and yes I make some of the changes myself. The last thing I changed was to place the photobox banner in there.
     
  8. wonder_lander

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,535

    Location: Stone, Staffordshire

    I've removed the photobox banner but it is still borked :(
     
  9. Mattus

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Sep 2003

    Posts: 10,912

    Location: London

    You have a typo just before the content <div>. Half of the tag to close the sidebar is missing - it's </di instead of </div>. This is making the main page appear inside of the sidebar.

    [​IMG]

    Looks like Firefox is doing a better job of correcting it than IE... Firefox is generally quite tolerant.
     
    Last edited: 2 Oct 2009
  10. wonder_lander

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,535

    Location: Stone, Staffordshire

    Cheers Mattus, that's sorted it now!

    Many, many thanks!
     
  11. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,864

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    You can probably put yer photobox banner ad back in now. :)