1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

If you have an x1800xt get 2gig of mem!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by jrodga2k5, 15 Jan 2006.

  1. jrodga2k5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Oct 2005

    Posts: 8,713

    Location: Scotland

    Hi guys just installed an extra gig chip into my pc the other day and i must say what an improvement in general! Everything runs even smoother than it did before. There are big differences I have noticed now.

    Quake 4 which did stutter when on ultra high on any settings with 1gig runs really really fast with that extra gig now!

    3dmark 2005 now easily breaks the 9k mark with a modest over clock of 660 core and 800 mem (9047)

    Battlefield 2 really needs 2gig anyways so runs a lot better.

    BFME 2 Beta does run slightly faster I guess, just means no slowdown in the action using any powers now.

    not given f.e.a.r a go yet but in general there have been decent performance increases all round, im very happy now.

    All in all I'll sum this up by suggesting that 2gig mem is a minimum you would really want to have with this card as it is now strutting its stuff even easier :D
     
  2. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,173

    Location: In a house

    Yeah got 2gb here, makes the world of difference, Fear runs like a dream maxed with 2gb. :)
     
  3. malccy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,721

    Don't know how I lived with only 1GB before!
     
  4. cyclopopcicle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Aug 2003

    Posts: 1,422

    because software manufacturers were not quite as lazy and fit it all in less memory, anyone remember 640k hmm those were the days