1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Poll: Iiyama GB3461WQSU-B1 - Flat 34" 1440 144HZ 1MS IPS Freesync for <£400

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Nexus18, 14 May 2020.

?

Is your monitor iiyama screen faulty?

  1. Yes

    32.1%
  2. No

    67.9%
  1. jwilliamson47

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Oct 2012

    Posts: 1,156

    Location: Blackburn, Lancashire

    Tried Shadow of the Tomb Raider and got about 60-70ish with my 1080Ti
     
  2. Nexus18

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 23,665

    If you aren't happy with it and it bothers you in normal usage with a reasonable brightness then I would get a replacement.
     
  3. foster grant

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 May 2012

    Posts: 6,157

    Location: North London

    I'm very tempted to buy it lol and lately I've been playing mostly ACC
     
  4. jwilliamson47

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Oct 2012

    Posts: 1,156

    Location: Blackburn, Lancashire

    Yeh that sounds sensible, I'll use it for a week or so to see if it bothers me.
     
  5. Seearbe

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2019

    Posts: 441

    Just to check something. The highest refresh rate my monitor is currently showing at 3440x1440 is 75hz. I'm using an older GPU at the moment which only has DP1.2, so is it correct that this is limiting the options shown. In other words, I'm not missing out on being able to set the refresh rate higher for desktop usage, e.g. 100hz? I completely accept I won't be gaming at those rates!!
     
  6. ljt

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,386

    Location: Birmingham, UK

    You should be able to get 100Hz @ 8Bit with DP1.2 I would have thought. It can do 144Hz at normal 1440p, so 100Hz at ultrawide should be possible
     
  7. Seearbe

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2019

    Posts: 441

    Hmm. The only option I can get in Nvidia control panel at 3440x1440 is 75hz. Nothing faster or slower is listed for that resolution.

    Also, if I go via Windows Display Settings --> Advanced display settings --> Display adaptor properties --> List All Modes, again there is only the single refresh rate for that resolution.

    I also can't seem to create a custom resolution.
     
  8. Nexus18

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 23,665

  9. Seearbe

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2019

    Posts: 441

    I thought that was odd, not least because if they notice there is an issue in the firmware, by default that is a fault with the product which existed when it shipped, so can be returned. Expensive approach!

    Anyway, I can confirm that after two weeks of use I have not had this glitch once.

    I'm absolutely loving this monitor for the productivity side - being able to have two proper-sized windows side-by-side is really great. Having spent some time configuring everything, I'm pretty happy with the colours, brightness etc (I actually mostly leave it on the "Standard" iStyle). I can't say I've suddenly found gaming any more immersive on account of the extra horizontal space but would probably notice it going back!

    My only wish is that I could get the refresh rate up but that likely needs a new GPU. I have a Club 3D DP1.4 cable turning up in the post just in case it's the cable (I need a second one for when my wife wants to hook her laptop up to this monitor in any case).
     
  10. pigeonguyuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Dec 2012

    Posts: 1,315

    Location: Bangor - Northern Ireland

    Would a 5700XT be good enough to have decent frame rates with this monitor? Only have a 4GB 5500XT at the minute so looking at my future upgrade plans.
     
  11. Seearbe

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2019

    Posts: 441

    It'll be fine. :)
     
  12. exhashdotdot

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,523

    Just received my monitor; the QC on this model is a joke. It's a shame because after a bit of tuning you can get a really nice image. Unless there's a big peely sticker to take off the screen, these deadpixels / dirt marks are egregious. The backlight bleed looks a lot worse than it is but the bottom left is a little eyebrow raising.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  13. b0rn2sk8

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Mar 2003

    Posts: 6,196

    The back light will look like that on pretty much every IPS screen you take a picture of. You need to adjust the camera exposure so it matches what you can actually see. There is very little value in taking a picture otherwise.

    Those dead pixels though... looks more like a huge flaw in the LCD itself.
     
  14. khemist

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Nov 2006

    Posts: 5,178

    Location: Scotland

    Reading these problems has put me off i think, can't be bothered with the lotto.
     
  15. exhashdotdot

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,523

    To be honest, I'm actually a bit disappointed with this monitor (ignoring the issues I've had with it). I think the best summary I can give of it is that it's image is "dull". Compared to my Electriq 27" 95 Hz monitor (Pixio 275h), the colours don't pop like most IPS monitors I've used and even considering it's ultrawide, it costs £400 compared to the £150 of the former. I suppose some people would like this because muted colours are more accurate; the white's aren't particularly bright in my opinion though.

    It's vastly superior to VA UW monitors I've tried though - there's very little ghosting as far as I can tell so it is a good gaming monitor; I just think it's not the one for me.
     
  16. KungFuSpaghetti

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Apr 2017

    Posts: 1,471

    Have you calibrated it? Only reason I ask is that I felt the same initially so colour calibrated it in windows which for me made a big difference. Also can add digital vibrancy through nv control panel and the colours pop more if that's what you're used to.
    I have the electriq 32" IPS and the colour popped more, although I had to mute it by decreasing vibrancy.
     
  17. exhashdotdot

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,523

    It probably is a bit out of calibration but the main issue I have (other than the dead pixels) is there doesn't seem to be any difference between 50 and 100 birghtness. Do you find a difference there?
     
  18. KungFuSpaghetti

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Apr 2017

    Posts: 1,471

    Yeah the brightness definitely makes a fair difference. It's not a dramatic difference like changing the gamma in NV control panel, but on my screen I see a notable difference from 50 to 70.
     
  19. Nexus18

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 23,665

    Brightness 50-100....

    And there's me still using 13 brightness :p

    It could be more the lower contrast ratio and heavier matte finish that is impacting that "pop". When side by side with lg 29um65 (both around 120 nits for brightness), I didn't really notice a massive difference, 29um65 did have ever so slightly more pop especially in darker areas but on the whole this iiyama is better.
     
  20. exhashdotdot

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,523

    That really surprises me. Both the Iiyama and my Electriq are rated at 350 cd/m2 brightness; perhaps I really did get a dud Iiyama (or an absolutely prime Electriq specimen).