1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Iiyama GB3461WQSU-B1 - Flat 34" 1440 144HZ 1MS IPS Freesync for <£400

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Nexus18, 14 May 2020.

  1. Nexus18

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 24,344

    Sounds like your monitor is faulty or not set up correctly as all the good reviewers rate it as being one of the best IPS monitors for gaming responsiveness.

    If you want a more yellow image too (if the monitor OSD settings aren't meeting your requirements) you can always adjust the colour temperature through your GPU driver control panel.
     
  2. clv101

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,716

    Location: Bristol

    I did pick this up in the end, an absolute bargain at £325. No significant black light bleed, one grey pixel in a bottom corner of no consequence. I've got no issues with the colour or lag - but I'm coming from an old 60Hz TN and it's far superior to that. It's a keeper.
     
  3. Temi_D

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,167

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    Question for the owners, what's the response time like? I did a quick test with mine were I was dragging a window across the screen and trying to read the text in it. It looked no different than my current 75hz screen (couldn't read the text). Although the movement was noticeably smoother.
     
  4. TheReflex

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Mar 2020

    Posts: 131

    Location: Ireland

    Actually no, the input lag in this monitor is a known flaw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qm4Pg73IIRw&t=205
     
  5. Nexus18

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 24,344

    Make sure you have windows set to 144HZ and overdrive on +1 or +2.

    Compared to my oled, motion clarity is ****, but that's to be expected.

    Sounds like a flaw with the test setup/settings and potentially a problem with CS:GO or something with not using the default res.???

    https://nl.hardware.info/artikel/99...e-prijsknaller-gaming-responstijd-en-inputlag

    https://www.prad.de/testberichte/te...tiger-gaming-monitor-ueberzeugt/5/#Latenzzeit



    Input lag is definitely not 20+ms when I'm gaming at 3440x1440 144hz DP (having compared it to other monitors and tvs running at 120hz etc.)
     
  6. TheReflex

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Mar 2020

    Posts: 131

    Location: Ireland

    I guess an early model could have been on that youtube test (my stand doesn't wobble like that one for sure), but I've seen it mentioned in other places.

    Do those Dutch links have anything on color settings? :) I'm still not fully satisfied with mine. I got a decent .icm from another website but I can't say I notice any diferences.
     
  7. Nexus18

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 24,344

    My one was one of the first, still have the half screen issue (but extremely rare for me). Sounds like it could just be down to the connection and config. which is causing the high input lag readings.

    They do but both are slightly different settings. Personally I don't bother with .icm files as they always get reset or don't apply with some games. 13% brightness, 50% contrast and user colour preset is what I use.
     
  8. Awahwah

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,028

    Location: Dark Side of the Moon

    I've just ordered one of these, so let's see if I get a good one or not.
     
  9. Awahwah

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,028

    Location: Dark Side of the Moon

    Mine arrived today. Seems ok, time will tell though.
     
  10. Awahwah

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,028

    Location: Dark Side of the Moon

    Strange problem with mine. Randomly I see a flash of pixelated pixels about 2 inches in the middle of the screen. It appears very a split second and goes again. Real hard to explain but its really off putting in games and just a pain in the behind at desktop. Do you think its DP cable related? I have an open return for it - not purchased from OcUK.
     
  11. TheReflex

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Mar 2020

    Posts: 131

    Location: Ireland

    Doesn't sound like a DP issue, but, as usual, I'd recommend having a VESA certified DP cable to eliminate that possibility
     
  12. Awahwah

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,028

    Location: Dark Side of the Moon

    Well. I just changed it to a spar, cheapo I had and the funkyness has gone away. I've ordered a kabelDirekt do 1.4 cable that should be with me tomorrow.

    Strange I know but I lucked in with all other aspects with this screen so if a 20 quid cable solves the problem then I'm a happy bunny
     
  13. TheReflex

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Mar 2020

    Posts: 131

    Location: Ireland

    That is great news. :) I use KabelDirekt on both my monitors and couldn't be happier.
     
  14. varkanoid

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Dec 2007

    Posts: 11,378

    Location: The TARDIS, Wakefield, UK

    So tempted to get this but its just too wide been umming and arrring for few days but then reading this thread sounds like its another lottery monitor.
     
  15. shaank

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,425

    Location: Edinburgh

    Got mine recently, love it! came from 2x 27" 1440p Dell monitors, and it took a little while to get used to this but it's great.

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]
     
  16. clv101

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,716

    Location: Bristol

    That looks curved... This is a flat thread.
     
  17. Awahwah

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,028

    Location: Dark Side of the Moon

    I had similar thoughts but I'm happy with mine.
     
  18. varkanoid

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Dec 2007

    Posts: 11,378

    Location: The TARDIS, Wakefield, UK

    What is the distance from the desk up to the bottom of the monitor ? (red arrow in picture below - I understand everyone is different due to height etc.)

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Awahwah

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,028

    Location: Dark Side of the Moon

    No idea with the supplied stand, mine is on an arm.
     
  20. clv101

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,716

    Location: Bristol

    180mm