1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm about to set fire to my A8N.. please help!

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by matt100, 19 Jan 2006.

  1. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,621

    Location: Surrey

    I'm having big problems with this board.. I've had it for about 4 months and to start off with it was fine no issues at all. Recently (since a bios flash I believe but I can't pinpoint it) its started refusing to boot up first time. I have to boot, it gets to the windows screen and the blue bar just keeps tracking under the icon forever. Then I power it off, back on and it goes in fine.

    Now its gotten worse, it never ever goes into windows so I've done a reformat.. it boots ok until I install the chipset drivers then it won;t complete boot. It'll boot in safe mode so I guess its a driver thing. It sometimes goes in when I pick last known good setup and if I do a system rollback it boots in once.

    I went for beta 1011, just trying to go back to 1009 and its saying that because thats an earlier version I have to use the dos flash utility.. I hate DOS.. can someone give me a list of steps to follow?

    Finally does my problem sound like a bios fault? windows is 100% stable when I get it in.
     
  2. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

    i had that happen on my a8n-sli deluxe i flashed to a beta bios and it was unstable i used the cd that came with the mobo to boot the computer and reload the original bios and then reload the last bios that worked fine for me :)
     
  3. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,621

    Location: Surrey

    so you boot with the driver cd, I have a usb floppy, can I just copy the bios 1009 onto a disc and take it from there or do I have to make it bootable etc?

    like I said, I hate dos.. I try very hard to avoid it!

    By the way, what bios are you using/did you decide is most stable?
     
  4. split

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2002

    Posts: 3,534

    Location: Dorset

    Flash the BIOS with a bootable CD thus if you dont fancy a floppy.

    If you want to know how, tell me the exact board and BIOS file you are going to use.

    I guess it's one of these?
     
  5. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,621

    Location: Surrey

    no it be this

    no idea how abit and asus ended up with the same product name :rolleyes:
     
  6. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,621

    Location: Surrey

    hmm.. reflashed with 1011.001 and its behaving.

    x64 seems ok too although I'm having to put in a bit more effort for drivers etc than I'm used to.
     
  7. RobP

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Aug 2003

    Posts: 283

    Location: Devon

    I've had a few problems with XP64 where every now and then it takes a while to get past the windows logo. Seems to be doing something to the hard disk whilst doing that. Can't seem to find a pattern, my PC sometimes doesn't shutdown but the last few times it's been fine and next I restart it, hard disc goes click, click, click and takes about 2 minutes to get past the logo screen. Did it this morning after PC had been off all night.
     
  8. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,621

    Location: Surrey

    I'll watch for that although my problems have been on xp home and pro not 64.
     
  9. marcosscriven

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Nov 2004

    Posts: 388

    i found a very simple way to flash from CD, and doesn't require be bootable.

    1) Burn BIOS file onto CD - just a plain single file
    2) Restart computer
    3) Press Alt-F2 as BIOS starts
    4) It will then automatically find the BIOS file on the CD and install it