I’m building a Polytunnel.

Caporegime
Decided to have a go and grow your own...:)

Never built one before and I’m a total noob at growing stuff. My pond was a success though and it’s thriving so fingers crossed.

4PsP9y8.jpg

JumWnnN.jpg

Soldato
Nice, I built a 20x60' tunnel couple years ago. Absolutely transforms what you can grow.

We have peach and nectarine trees, grape vines, and are able to have fresh salad all through winter.

Soldato
Defo some chillies, and hopefully a plethora of fruits and veggies....:D

Have you already started growing the chilies? If not you're probably just past the point where you'll be able to grow them for harvest this year.

That's one huge tunnel though. Make sure its well bolted down so the wind can't move it. Should be able to grow a huge amount of stuff in them.

Caporegime
OP
Have you already started growing the chilies? If not you're probably just past the point where you'll be able to grow them for harvest this year.

That's one huge tunnel though. Make sure its well bolted down so the wind can't move it. Should be able to grow a huge amount of stuff in them.

I had a go last year so kept a few and overwintered them....That should give me a head start.

I also have a few seedlings on the go using the paper towel food bag method....I should be ok....:)

Soldato
I've built a couple, the door is normally the pain in the backside. Consider digging a trench and concreting the bottom bar (the one you bury) in place. Also the wood will rot in the soil, treated or not. Consider bitumen coating the frame and bottom bar. In addition you may want to redesign the door as in the summer you'll want it open much of the time to manage the temperatures down. We had young kids so changed mine to a stable type bottom half closed to keep monkeys and other pests out top open too keep cool on hot days.