1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Importing FLAC into iTunes

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by ChrisD., 15 Apr 2010.

  1. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 26,166

    What's the easiest way of doing this? I'd live to have the right tags for the songs and slo the artwork. Thanks.
     
  2. AbsenceJam

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,304

    iTunes doesn't support FLAC. You can use dBpoweramp to convert to Apple Lossless or MP3.
     
  3. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 26,166

    Any freeware?
     
  4. CaptainCrash

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Sep 2008

    Posts: 1,716

    The trial version of dBpoweramp Music Converter is fully functional for 21 days, which should be long enough to do what you want.

    foobar2000 will convert to mp3, or to ALAC using FFmpeg, but although it will carry the tags across it won't preserve any album art embedded in the FLAC source files.
     
  5. jbloggs

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,961

    Location: NI

  6. pokemonfan

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Apr 2010

    Posts: 3

  7. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 26,166

    Cheers. Using dBpoweramp for now and it's great, so may purchase.
     
  8. mdixson

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 May 2004

    Posts: 859

    Location: Northamtonshire

    Love how it uses the most of all cores :D
     
  9. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 26,166

    I must admit that it did bring a smile to my face.

    /nerd
     
  10. jellybeard999

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 7 Feb 2004

    Posts: 7,802

    Location: NE

    dBpoweramp is charged for now? It was always free with extra functionality if you paid :eek:

    I'm still using an older freeware version as I prefer the UI
     
  11. CaptainCrash

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Sep 2008

    Posts: 1,716

    I don't use it to be honest, I just assumed that was the case from the website home page.

    Looking at this you may be right, although you'll lose out on the multi-CPU simultaneous encoding and other advanced features.

    More OT nerdiness: one of the first things I did after building my first Q6600 system was to apply replaygain to a couple of hundred GB of FLAC files... I remember foobar2000 tearing through them at >700x realtime with all four cores maxed out, and I sat there giggling like a schoolgirl. :D