1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Induction kit and a focus

Discussion in 'Motors' started by gam3r, 8 May 2006.

  1. gam3r

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,772

    Location: London..

    Ok, firstly can someone explain to me what an induction kit actually does, and secondly how much difference would a £20 max power induction kit make to a ford focus?

    Oh, and how difficult are they to fit btw?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,317

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    You would probably loose power, dead easy to fit, don't bother ;)
     
  3. gam3r

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,772

    Location: London..

    Lol, Why would you loose power :D
     
  4. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,317

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    Actually i was wrong you would gain power ->

    New Filter - bad location + sucking in hot air = loss of power - 10bph

    But Free Maxpower sticker = + 50 Bhp

    So you're 40Bhp up, well worth the upgrade.
     
  5. MuvverRussia

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,177

    Location: Cardiff/Coventry

    as it'll drag in warm rather than cold air.

    Also you are planning on declaring it to your insurance company yeah? Really wouldn't bother myself, and if I were i'd go for a decent one (k&n etc).
     
  6. saitrix

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Jun 2003

    Posts: 8,944

    Location: Loughborough

    Want a quick way to make your Focus louder? Look for a small box to the right of the airbox. If there is one there thats your resonator. Unscrew the screws on the airbox, angle the whole thing up so you can get the resonator out. Once out you now have a loud car and have lost ~0.2bhp (on the road, as tested at an ffoc rr day). Its what i have done to mine right now :o

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 8 May 2006
  7. gam3r

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,772

    Location: London..

    Just pondering some performance upgrades for it really, not sure what ill make it sound good. What about a mufflertip or something else that would give perfomance gain?
     
  8. Stellios

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Aug 2004

    Posts: 17,023

    Location: Geordieland

    LOL saitrix.

    Makes it sounds so unbelieveable sexy, if its a cement mixer :p
     
  9. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,317

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    If you want to get more bhp you need to spend more than £20, cold air feed, new manifold, free flowing system, sports cat, but imho you will gain very little and spend lots.
     
  10. saitrix

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Jun 2003

    Posts: 8,944

    Location: Loughborough

    Shush you. :p

    http://saitrix.rchomepage.com/Zorst.avi

    Thats my engine with the resonator off. :o
     
  11. gam3r

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,772

    Location: London..

    I understand you need way more than 20quid, i was just wondering what sort of bang for buck things were out there at the moment :)

    Another side question : Do all focus' have a zetec engine or only some and whats the advantage?
     
  12. saitrix

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Jun 2003

    Posts: 8,944

    Location: Loughborough

    All the mk1 prefacelifts have the Zetec-S for the petrols. Then round the point of going facelift they changed to the Zetec-SE.
     
  13. MuvverRussia

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,177

    Location: Cardiff/Coventry

    iirc all focii have the zetec engine apart from the newer ones (mk2) which have the duratec. May be wrong though.
     
  14. gam3r

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,772

    Location: London..

  15. saitrix

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Jun 2003

    Posts: 8,944

    Location: Loughborough

    Yup, all the air still gets filtered. Only takes 2 mins to try it!
     
  16. Stellios

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Aug 2004

    Posts: 17,023

    Location: Geordieland

  17. gam3r

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,772

    Location: London..

    so the resonator just sits there loose?
     
  18. Serj

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Nov 2004

    Posts: 3,581

    Location: Bournemouth

    Pretty sure you'll need to remove it after undoing the screws.... ;)
     
  19. saitrix

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Jun 2003

    Posts: 8,944

    Location: Loughborough

    Undo the 4 screws on the airbox until they nearly come out of the thread. Lift up the right hand side of the airbox so it is angled upwards. Then pull the resonator out by slightly lifting the lid on the airbox at the same time. Then just push the airbox back down and tighten all the screws. Unlike what i did the first time and forget to tighten the screws again. :o

    Its easy enough to just go out and look at it. You will work it out easy enough. :) Then come back and say what you think.
     
    Last edited: 8 May 2006
  20. lozza23_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,536

    waste of time. spent ages playing with different filters etc on the golf years ago.

    a replacement filter was best, for about 15k, then all the dirt that collects in them actually makes it worse than a std filter.
    if you get one, you might gain a couple of mph, but loose some torque (hot air) which means you will loose acceleration. but both will be negligable.

    however, airbox mods for a nicer tone is good. always goto add some growl :)

    hope this helps.