1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installed 64 bit Win10 by mistake. Should I install 32 bit instead?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by gizmo1990, 21 Sep 2020.

  1. gizmo1990

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Aug 2003

    Posts: 829

    I installed Win10 recently on an old netbook (yep one of the old 2gb Atom's!) and it runs about as well as I'd/you'd expect.. Which is actually to say, not bad really considering! It's only intended to be a back up machine and is handy to have around.

    Anyway, I forgot that the Win10 boot usb was 64 bit. Is it worth going through the whole thing again and putting win10 32 bit on? Would it be noticeably faster in some way? As I said it already runs pretty much how I would expect so I'd be surprised if it were to run faster but I've no idea.

    If anyone knows if it's worth putting on the 32 bit ver I'd appreciate it.
     
  2. malachi

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 10,640

    Location: Earth

    If its working fine how it is then leave 64bit on.
     
  3. arknor

    Caporegime

    Joined: 22 Nov 2005

    Posts: 38,405

    Location: Newcastle/Zurich

    pretty sure win10 wouldnt have installed and booted in 64bit if your cpu was so old it only supports 32bit which would be stupidly old

     
  4. JasonM

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jun 2009

    Posts: 2,904

    Stay on 64bit, there is no performance disadvantage. As others have said if it installed your computer is compatible.
     
  5. Django x2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Sep 2008

    Posts: 13,541

    Location: Britain

    Not technically true, but that's for another day :D
     
  6. gizmo1990

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Aug 2003

    Posts: 829

    Thanks for the replies everyone. I took it for granted that the Atom was 32 bit but I found this which says otherwise. Amazing really.

    Anyway, I'll leave it on 64 bit. It does run surprisingly well for a 10 year old netbook.
     
  7. Dinkleberg

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Mar 2015

    Posts: 35

    32 bit is really only useful if you have less than 4GB ram. Practically speaking.
     
  8. darael

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jul 2010

    Posts: 4,708

    64-bit will actually use a little more memory and storage than 32-bit. So I would argue that yes there is a small loss in performance, particularly when the laptop only has 2GB of RAM.

    If you want to test the above yourself, compare fresh installations of the two on a virtual machine. Before you even start installing, you can see the increase in ISO file sizes - 64-bit being around 1.4x the size of 32-bit.