1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing a sub and amp?

Discussion in 'Motors' started by -westy-, 11 May 2006.

  1. -westy-

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Nov 2002

    Posts: 12,316

    Location: UK

    Hey,

    I'm helping a friend install a sub and amp into her Fiesta on friday, got a couple of questions:

    1. Where's the best place to run the wiring? down the middle of the car, so we have to take the seats and carpet out?

    2. Anything else I need to take into consideration?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,326

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    + Wire & REM down one side / RCA down the other, do it down the plastic inside sills then you don't need to take the seats out.

    Short earth wire in the boot, seatbelt mounting point is usually a good one, if you have metal rca leads wrap some tape round the ends once connected to avoid bad earths.
     
  3. -westy-

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Nov 2002

    Posts: 12,316

    Location: UK

    SO run the wiring down the sides of the car, and earth wire inside the boot? coming from where, the amp?
     
  4. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,326

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    + from the batt through the bulkhead and with an inline fuse, get the right gauge wire.

    - from a fixing point in the boot to the amp, usually the shorter the better.

    Both wires must be the same gauge.
     
  5. Nathan

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Feb 2003

    Posts: 4,633

    Location: West Midlands

    amp earth to selt belt point.

    Power and remote lead down drivers side. RCA down passanger side. Job done
     
  6. Nathan

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Feb 2003

    Posts: 4,633

    Location: West Midlands

    ..make sure you put the fuse end in under the bonnet ;) dont want a car fire now do we.
     
  7. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,326

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    Yep closer to the batt the better 15" or less.
     
  8. -westy-

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Nov 2002

    Posts: 12,316

    Location: UK

    Would an inline fuse come with a wiring kit? and does anyone know the location of a hole in the bulkhead in a '98 Fiesta?
     
  9. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,326

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    It should indeed, and i think its either near the steering column or behind the glovebox.
     
  10. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,030

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    down the middle for the RCA's if possible - shorter lengths. Run the power cables down the side from the battery again, shorter runs are prefered:)
     
  11. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,326

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    True but she aint going to be running in any SQ competitions and the bother of stripping the insides of the car out far outweighs the advantages it offers in this car, imho :)
     
  12. tickle me elmo

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Nov 2005

    Posts: 362

    i ran everything down the left side of the car under the plastic trim.
     
  13. djbenjo

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,894

    Location: Manchester

    Doesn't really matter were its earthed, nearest clean earth you can find :)
     
  14. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,326

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    Just asking for trouble imho, but if that works for you ;)
     
  15. monkeyspank

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,313

    Location: cambs UK

    In theory it's best to run the phono leads on the opposite side to the power leads but a lot of people just run them together with no problems. If you have the time it would make sense to run the phono leads seperately.

    When you choose a grounding point in the boot or whatever, try to sand the paintwork down where the connection will be made. You want a really good connection here. Well, you want good connections everywhere but this one is worth noting. Make sure all crimps that you do are really good.
     
  16. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,030

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    you'd have to stip it anyway to hind the cables, surely? sorry, im used to installing that way. it doesnt take much longer, but it saves a little on cabling, especially if your using some expensive stuff:) your right it dones make much of a difference, ut if you have the time its worth doing it:)
     
  17. monkeyspank

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,313

    Location: cambs UK

    I'm guessing he'll be using the 5m one that comes with the wiring kits.
     
  18. megakid

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,381

    Location: London

    Why's that, I've heard myths about people believing the power cable affects the RCAs but they are just that, myths. I run a 4awg power cable from the battery (fused 3" from the battery) to a fused distro-box under my passenger seat - a very small length of 4awg to my component amp under my passenger seat (grounded at seat mount) and another length going to the boot.

    All RCAs are down underneith the same trim (along side 2*thick speaker wire for the dash to the front seat etc) - ok so it was a tight squeeze getting the trim back down but it works perfectly and sounds awesome.

    I'm not planning on doing anything more with it so hardly asking for trouble is it?
     
  19. agw_01

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Apr 2004

    Posts: 19,690

    When I did mine in the GSi, I ripped the rear seats out and ran the RCA's down the centre console and under the carpet along the centre of the car.

    I used the seat mounting bracket as the earth point, which is right at the front of the boot (towards middle of car) hidden underneath the carpet. As I removed the seat anyway, I sanded down an area under the bracket (as has been said above) to provide a good earth.

    My cabling is a bit of a mish-mash at the moment. I bought 5 metres of what I thought was 4AWG last year. My fuse holder is held down via sticky tabs and cable-ties to one area of the engine bay, about 10cm of cable length from the battery.

    I bought a metre of 4AWG cable from eBay to bridge this gap and when it turned up, noticed it was a lot thinner than the stuff I had before. So I have either 2 or 0AWG cable running through the car.

    Be good for my battery to boot conversion then :)

    In the boot, I have the power cable running to a distrib block which then has a 10AWG cable running to the amp, and also a 10AWG earth cable from the amp to the earth point.
     
    Last edited: 11 May 2006
  20. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,326

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    Running wires parallel to each other can induce voltage in the other wires which can = alternator whine or degraded sq, thats why.

    Oh its deffo worth the extra effort if you have the time, all i did in the clio was pull the internal trim up and pushed the wires under, easy peasy :)