1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing more than one Distro of linux

Discussion in 'Linux & Open Source' started by Mikey1280, 3 Mar 2006.

  1. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    I installed Ubuntu yesterday and want to try Suse and Gentoo, do I need to partiton my drive in windows or Ubuntu or can the Suse/Gentoo installer do this for me?
     
  2. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    Bump, surely someone must have done this before?!
     
  3. Etaqua

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Nov 2005

    Posts: 478

    It can do it for you. Just select manual partition when it asks you to format your drive. :)
     
  4. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    So the drive already has 2 partitions, one with data and a swap partition, do I need to resize both of these? What new partitions do I need to make? Could someone draw me a diagram :)
     
  5. Vonhelmet

    Caporegime

    Joined: 28 Jun 2005

    Posts: 48,107

    Location: On the hoods

    Leave swap, as you can use that in both distros. Resize data.
     
  6. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    Ok thanks vonhelmet, can this be done in Ubuntu, I opened the disk utility/manager but could see no option for resizing? All the free windows partition programs dont allow you to make changes either.
     
  7. Etaqua

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Nov 2005

    Posts: 478

    You can't do anything to a partition that is in use, which is why you should use a live CD or the installer for the new distro.
     
  8. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    Ok thanks Etagua, how can I resize my partition during the Suse install? Or can I do it from the Knoppix Live CD, if so how?
     
  9. Vonhelmet

    Caporegime

    Joined: 28 Jun 2005

    Posts: 48,107

    Location: On the hoods

    Use the Knoppix CD. Run qtparted. It's pretty easy to figure out and use.