1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing Windows

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Riiya, 24 Apr 2010.

  1. Riiya

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 8 Jul 2006

    Posts: 752

    Location: Google Earth

    Is there a way to take my Windows Install CD, place it on a 5gig partition, and have that partition bootable to the windows install screen?

    Like on laptops where you can reinstall windows without a cd?

    My dvd drive has conked out and i need to reinstall Windows XP Pro lol.


    So basically:

    1.No Cd Drive
    2.No floppy drive
    3.No USB drive

    iso of Windows XP available

    Im impatient, and if its possible it would be nice, cos my DVD-RW doesn't arrive until after the weekend :<<<

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: 24 Apr 2010
  2. D D Danneh

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Feb 2009

    Posts: 3,468

    Location: Sheffield

    I'd get a professional in for that, tbh. You don't want drafts.
     
  3. Riiya

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 8 Jul 2006

    Posts: 752

    Location: Google Earth

    Lol :p

    Any serious comment tho :D ?
     
  4. D D Danneh

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Feb 2009

    Posts: 3,468

    Location: Sheffield

    I don't know, but I imagine if you ripped the CD directly, placed it somewhere and booted from it, it'd work.
     
  5. Riiya

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 8 Jul 2006

    Posts: 752

    Location: Google Earth

    Its annoying that you need a bootable cd/floppy to get to the command prompt. All I'd need to do it be able to somehow run winnt from a separate partition :<
     
  6. robinbredin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,504

    Location: Northern Ireland

    Dell use the bootable partition, but it is factory made on the Hard Drive, and cannot be recreated outside the factory.
     
  7. theheyes

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,945

    Location: Manchester

    What version of Windows?
     
  8. Riiya

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 8 Jul 2006

    Posts: 752

    Location: Google Earth

    XP Pro
     
  9. kylew

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 May 2007

    Posts: 10,739

    Location: Liverpool

    Microsoft I think. :o :p
     
  10. J.B

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Aug 2006

    Posts: 5,922

    Could do it with USB drive easily

    Can you plug the HDD into another machine and start the installation?
     
  11. Riiya

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 8 Jul 2006

    Posts: 752

    Location: Google Earth

    How can I do it with a USB Drive :D I got a 1GB one somewhere around the house.
     
  12. robinbredin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,504

    Location: Northern Ireland

  13. Riiya

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 8 Jul 2006

    Posts: 752

    Location: Google Earth

    Thanks.