1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Intel Mobo Required for CCTV system

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by sWiZzLe, 10 Mar 2010.

  1. sWiZzLe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,948

    Location: Maidenhead

    For as long as i can remember I've been using AMD and now i need to buy a Intel motherboard for this CCTV system im totally confused.

    We have an Avermedia NV5000 CCTV card, and on this page is a list of tested and supported hardware.

    We had a pc ready to install this card but the socket is damaged. The cpu from it is a rather old Pentium 4 516 2.93GHz LGA775

    Could someone please recommend a motherboard which:

    Is below £100 (below or around £50 would be nice)
    Is listed on the Avermedia supported hardware list
    Supports the Intel Pentium 4 516 2.93GHz LGA775 (if possible)
    Has Raid 1
    Supports DDR2
    And is reasonably recent - in case we wish to upgrade the cpu in the future

    Cheers
     
  2. sWiZzLe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,948

    Location: Maidenhead

    Found one, i was going mad last night looking but the first one i looked at today, the ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP seems to fit my above spec...

    Not that i can find one to buy mind :(
     
    Last edited: 10 Mar 2010
  3. Hamoodii

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jun 2006

    Posts: 2,632

    Location: London/Southampton

    Pentium 43.0GHz :eek:
     
  4. sWiZzLe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,948

    Location: Maidenhead

    Your point is?
     
  5. Phoenixdancer

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 22 Feb 2010

    Posts: 1,630

    the p5b Deluxe were Perfect boards back in the Day, got one in my Bros PC :)

    Perfect overclockers.
     
  6. marc512

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Nov 2008

    Posts: 1,921

    Location: Scotland / Blairgowrie

    holy crap I WANT BENCHMARKS!!!!!!!!!!!!! i wonder if t can overclock to 50ghz :D
     
  7. Hamoodii

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jun 2006

    Posts: 2,632

    Location: London/Southampton

    Read the requirments for your security thingy.
     
  8. sWiZzLe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,948

    Location: Maidenhead

    Yeah, its the cpu that was on the motherboard that died you blind b*****d, can't you read?

    Took the the motherboard down to a jewelers earlier today and the let me use some tools in their workshop and fixed it :)
     
  9. Hamoodii

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jun 2006

    Posts: 2,632

    Location: London/Southampton

    Don't think you understand what I'm getting at, always funny to see people get worked up over nothing ;)
     
  10. V4nger

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Dec 2009

    Posts: 663

    Location: Bath

    HAHA 43GHz lol
     
  11. sWiZzLe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,948

    Location: Maidenhead

    And a really unhelpful, childish comment!

    Basically my mate bought this E-pc of ebay for for about £300 quid a couple of years back for me to use at work. Last year i lost my rag with it and built a new pc with my old quad cpu. Now we need a pc for cctv and, oh look at the spec required for the card:

    * CPU: Pentium 4 3.0 GHz or higher
    * OS: Windows 7/ 2000/ XP/ Vista 32 bit
    * RAM: 512MB
    * HDD : 80GB or higher
    * CD-RM/DVD-RM
    * Graphic Card: 32-bit high color SVGA graphics card with 64MB video memory and DirectDraw / YUV Rendering Capability
    * 10/100 Base-T Ethernet card
    * Sound card and speaker

    Motherboard was broken (now fixed) and we didn't want have to buy components we didnt need to!
     
  12. sibeer

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Oct 2005

    Posts: 537

    Location: Wirral, Merseyside

    Given the fact that you want any CCTV system to be as stable as possible I would look at a new motherboard if you have any doubt with the repaired one. Most CCTV cards get on very well with Intel G31 mobo's that are commonly available for around £30.