1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Intel S5000PAL Board Raid Controller

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by Sirrel Squirrel, 3 Jun 2010.

  1. Sirrel Squirrel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 5 Aug 2003

    Posts: 7,893

    Location: Essex

    I have a server with this board and the sata controller is currently running in AHCI mode. I want to add another 4 hard drives and RAID 0 them. Can I switch the controller to RAID mode without reinstalling Windows on the boot drive, which will not form part of the RAID?
     
    Last edited: 3 Jun 2010
  2. Sp00n

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,222

    Location: Brighton

    No I don't think you will be able to, the ESB2 raid controller is applicable to all the SATA ports so once you switch over to raid it will affect those 2 ports as well.

    What you could do is image the current server, then create 2 volumes, one for the boot and the RAID 0 for the data.

    Can't see any other way of doing it unless you get hold of another RAID card.
     
  3. Sirrel Squirrel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 5 Aug 2003

    Posts: 7,893

    Location: Essex

    Thanks I thought that might be the case as with most controllers, someone said to me it was possible but they couldn't shed any more light on how to do it, I'll image the drive when I get some free time, I was hoping there'd be a quick solution other than using Windows striping.
     
  4. matthab

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Apr 2009

    Posts: 3,164

    I thought with that controller you could disable raid on particular ports.
     
  5. Sirrel Squirrel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 5 Aug 2003

    Posts: 7,893

    Location: Essex

    Don't suppose you know how? I can't see anything in the motherboard bios or the controller bios.
     
  6. Ringiho

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Dec 2008

    Posts: 1,385

    Location: Basingstoke, Hants

    You can't on those boards :)
    SATA in ACHI mode or RAID! It is just an on/off switch basically