1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internet explorer - click on hyperlinks and sod all happens!

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Raumarik, 17 Jan 2006.

  1. Raumarik

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Jul 2003

    Posts: 13,781

    annoying IE problem at work, click a link - nothing happens. Right click/open in new window - nothing happens.

    No popup blockers running, IE6 and I've even tried reregistering serveral DLLs as advised on the MSKB (URLMON.dll etc).

    Any ideas? driving me up the friggen wall! Not my pc as I'd use Firefox anyway :p
     
  2. Emo_hug

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Jun 2004

    Posts: 4,550

    windows update? also is this on all webites or cirtain ones?

    you could always use a stand alone version of firefox, one that doesn't need installing :)
     
  3. Raumarik

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Jul 2003

    Posts: 13,781

    every single website unfortunately. I'll probably end up reimaging the machine now, they dont like me working out problems at work :(
     
  4. JayMax

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,795

    HKEY_LM\SW\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\URL\Prefixes
    HKEY_LM\SW\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\URL\DefaultPrefix

    Maybe try checking the above keys have http:// in the appropriate entrys, esp under default & 'www'?

    Just my 2p.
     
    Last edited: 17 Jan 2006
  5. Raumarik

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Jul 2003

    Posts: 13,781

    cheers mate any ideas welcome I'd rather sort this for the user than scrub thier PC because of one stupid fault! I'll give any ideas a shot first!
     
  6. Gimpymoo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 15,222

    Location: Nottingham

    Do you have Norton/Mcafee installed?

    Try disabling that if you do, see if the same problem is there :)
     
  7. chimaera

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,511

    Location: Houston, TX

    I had a similar problem and it was because IE wasn't set up as the default web software, when i uninstalled FF it took itself off the default list but nothing went back on, so IE couldn't open any hyperlinks.
     
  8. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    is your windows set to open links on a single click or a double? could be something silly like that.