1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internet stalling - USB modem problem??

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by valve90210, 24 Jan 2006.

  1. valve90210

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Jan 2006

    Posts: 4,015

    My girl friend has a computer I got for nothing from work, it's a 700Mhz Intel Celeron, ok so it's not the fastest thing in the world but it does everything she needs.

    She has broadband provided by Wanadoo, using a Speedtouch C330 USB modem.

    This was installed on an even older computer that I loaned her and was working fine, however on this computer it keeps freezing.

    One minute it is working fine and is nice and quickly but then it’ll just stop and do nothing for anything up to about a minute then it’ll start working fine again.

    I’ve tried to find info about this problem on the Speedtouch website and the wanadoo help section but haven’t found anything.

    I’ve installed the latest drivers for the modem but it hasn’t made any difference.

    I did see some reference to their being some kind of USB related issue when the modem is used on a computer with certain Bios’s or something but it didn’t mean a lot to me.

    Anyone got any ideas what might be causing this freezing???

    Valve
     
  2. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    Freezing usually indicates Bad drivers somewhere, if it's not the modem ones then it's probably her USB dirvers. Try updating those.

    Does it freeze when not browsing the web?
     
  3. valve90210

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Jan 2006

    Posts: 4,015

    Do you mean does the computer freeze, or the internet connection?

    The computer runs fine for everything except this problem on the net.

    The computer is running Windows 98SE, and I've got all the updates from microsoft, how can I update the USB drivers? Would it be via new motherboard drivers or something like that???

    Valve
     
  4. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    you should be able to DL new USB drivers from the mobo manufacturer. but tbh i think your issues are with windows 98. 2000/XP are far nicer to network with. 98 isn't natively a networking OS, they had NT4 for that.
     
  5. valve90210

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Jan 2006

    Posts: 4,015

    thing is I don't think the computer is gonna be quick enough to run XP, so I'm kinda stuck with 98, is there anything can do to improve the USB performance, other than the mother board drivers which I shall look into over the weekend???

    Thanks for your help

    Valve
     
  6. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    It should take 2000 Pro. If not upgrading so it does isn't costly at all.
     
  7. Matteysan

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,989

    Location: Telford

    Her specs should be fine to run xp on i used to run it on a celeron 500mhz/192mb sdram/everything else onboard with no problems in most cases it was alot better than windows 9x.
     
  8. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    Hmm, considering XP eats up 128MB of that 192 you don't have much room left for apps.
    500Mhz..........i take it you haven't used a P4 xp rig yet? :p
    The "official" min spec for XP home is:

    * Min hard drive space
    * 1.5 GB

    * Min processor type
    * Intel Pentium 233 MHz

    * Min RAM size
    * 64 MB

    * Peripheral / Interface devices
    * CD-ROM, SVGA monitor, Mouse or compatible device
    But practically i wouldn't dream of running on less than 800Mhz 256MB. Infact i wouldn't get home, i'd go 1GHz 512Mb and use XP pro.
    on a system with surplus Ram 128 disapears into XP any less than 256 and you'll get hardcore disk thrashing that is slow and wears your HD out
     
  9. Matteysan

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,989

    Location: Telford

    I see your point & it was kinda slow but not impossible to work on imo, I have a p4 rig & use xp :)