1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it me or have I found a big bug in Vista?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by metalmackey, 19 Oct 2009.

  1. metalmackey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,149

    Location: Behind you

    Hi,

    I was running vista in a "high contrast" mode and decided to backup about 17gb of data to a USB HD. I started the copy and loaded IE to browse the net and I used messenger too. Flipped between various open windows a few times and I noticed the copy had got "stuck" and loaded task manager and the copy was not responding. I left it a min to see if it had defenatly crashed and it had. Tried again 2 times and same thing. Switched to normal areo display theme and tried again, it worked first time with me swapping between lots of windows too. I cant work out why high contrast mode causes it to not respond but it does:S
     
  2. _Jimlad_

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jun 2005

    Posts: 19,510

    Location: Southampton

    i doubt it would be classed as a world wide bug, but maybe with your setup it is, could just be spiking when flipping, large USB transfer can be dodgy full stop, if i'm shifting more than 4gb i tend not to do much else on my pc.
     
  3. Phil2008

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 8,366

    I have no trouble with transfering large stuff by usb, and Ive tranfered a few 100gb at once over usb while using the pc as normal. The only time it failed during copying is when the hdd overheated.
     
    Last edited: 19 Oct 2009
  4. theheyes

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,945

    Location: Manchester

  5. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 16,229

    This. Backing up to usb external i just leave it running and not use the pc
     
  6. _Jimlad_

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jun 2005

    Posts: 19,510

    Location: Southampton

    yeah i now use robocopy for large usb transfer
     
  7. Psy-Blade

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Jun 2009

    Posts: 411

    You'll find that the 64bit version of vista is a lot more more accepting of copying files and using the pc at the same time. A nice RAID0 really helps though.