1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

is my cpuu giving up the ghost?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by icysniper, 6 Mar 2010.

  1. icysniper

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 882

    Location: South Wales

    I have a very old Dell Latitude D610, with a Pentium M 750 processor, it should run at 1866 MHz, however when I opened CPU-Z, it shows it running at 798 MHz??? There are no power saving things active, opened iTunes, firefox and sibelius at the same time to see if it would go back upto 1866 MHz but it hasnt. So, has is my cpu finally giving up??

    Thanks, icy
     
  2. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,846

    Location: Kent

    Try running something like prime and check windows power options in control panel.
     
  3. icysniper

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 882

    Location: South Wales

    checked windows power options and their set at maximum performance, and running prime, no change still running at 798 Mhz
     
  4. icysniper

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 882

    Location: South Wales

    here's a screen shot of CPU-Z if it means anything to anyone

    [​IMG]
     
  5. cmndr_andi

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2009

    Posts: 12,040

    Location: Cheshire

    This sounds like Intel Speedstep - a technology which is employed on Intel Pentium M CPUs. If you look here, that CPU uses a 133MHz bus speed (yours is correctly running at this speed), and a 14x multiplier (yours is only at 6x). Concidering that "Intel Speedstep" reduces CPU multiplier to save power, then this is almost certainly what is going on.

    Opening up itunes, firefox and sibelius really isn't much of a CPU stress test, more of a RAM/HDD test. So I wouldn't worry too much if these actions don't cause the CPU multiplier to increase.

    As RJC suggests, you should try running a stress tester to check that it does kick the speed up to 1.86Ghz. OCCT is a nice, early-to-use program that incorporates a prime 95 stress tester.
     
    Last edited: 6 Mar 2010
  6. icysniper

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 882

    Location: South Wales

    been running Prime95 for just over 50 minutes now and it is still running at 798 MHz as it sounds like Intel Speedstep is to blame, is there anyway of making it change it back to 1866MHz??
     
  7. icysniper

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 882

    Location: South Wales

    been running Prime95 for around 16 hours now straight, and the CPU is still running at 798 MHz????? how can I get it back to 1866 MHz?
     
  8. neblemak

    Associate

    Joined: 9 Jan 2010

    Posts: 81

    Have a fiddle in power options. Seem to remember there's an option called 'max cpu state' or similar...
     
  9. icysniper

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 882

    Location: South Wales

    yeh had a look in there and its set to 'maximum performance' and still running at 798 MHz :confused:
     
  10. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,846

    Location: Kent

    Defiantly a strange one, are there any option in the BIOS to do a restore setting / load default values.
    Are you running on mains or battery.
     
  11. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    Could be that dell hold the cpu multi down to conserve battery life when running on the battery.
     
  12. reflux

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2007

    Posts: 12,845

    Location: Enfield

    SpeedStep should, naturally run the CPU at 800mhz. If the computer is plugged in and under stress testing, the speed should rise to full. Since this appears not to be happening, there's obviously something going on - had a gander in the bios? tried another OS install?
     
  13. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,738

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    What's your temps like when running Prime?
     
  14. Gundog48

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Sep 2009

    Posts: 1,613

    Location: Maidstone, Kent

    Great to see people still have these old systems! Anyway, surely you can just change the multiplier manually in the BIOS?
     
  15. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,360

    Location: Planet Earth

    RM Clock or Notebook Hardware Control will enable you to change the multiplier under Windows if it is not possible in the BIOS.
     
  16. Coxyis

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Oct 2008

    Posts: 506

    Location: Doncaster

    Not usually on a laptop, I wouldn't think so anyway.

    Dell probably have that kind of thing locked?
     
  17. icysniper

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 882

    Location: South Wales

    i'm locked out as its a dell :( and plugged into mains power and using prime, temps were a max of 59 degrees C
     
  18. Frozennova

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 11,432

    Location: Northampton

    Try stripping it and cleaning the fans it may be thermally throttling, if you download rmclock it will tell you in the one of the tabs if any throttling is active
     
  19. icysniper

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 882

    Location: South Wales

    downloaded rmclock and it is very useful, I have seen the clock speed return to 1866 MHz which is good :D and now it returns to 798 MHz when idling. Just ran Prime95 and the clock speed still sits at 798 MHz :confused: however when running the IntelBurnTest the clock speed shoots back up to 1866 MHz :D which is a good sign but still don't understand the clock speed for the Prime95 test :confused: