1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Is Re-Installing Windows XP Necessary?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by jbloggs, 4 Mar 2006.

  1. jbloggs

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,961

    Location: NI

    I have an Asus P4C800 motherboard with an Intel Pentium 4 2.6GHz (800FSB + H/Threading) Northwood CPU fitted. I have recently bought a new Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz (800FSB + H/Threading) Prescott CPU which I intend to fit onto this motherboard instead of the 2.6GHz Northwood.

    My question is simply this, can i simply install the new Prescott onto the mobo and use the current Window XP installation without having to do a complete re-install or would I need to do that as well (to make sure the correct drivers are loaded)?

    In the past when I have fitted a new CPU the circumstances have been that I have had to install XP at the same time anyway.

    Many thanks for your comments. :)
     
  2. aardvark

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 8,087

    Location: leeds

    no need to re-install for a new processor, you'll be fine
     
  3. valerian

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,866

    Location: Stafford

    no itll work fine, once and only once i changed mobos and didnt have to reinstall xp either a fluke
     
  4. ted34

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,738

    Location: Edinburgh

    If your running same chipsets then i always found you can get away with it but its always best to reinstall windows. Did see a thread where they explained how to get round it. It involved uninstalling loads of things in device manager and changing some settings. Cant remember all the details or where i saw it.
     
  5. jbloggs

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,961

    Location: NI

    Thanks for you're replies! ;)
     
  6. wattsy

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Oct 2002

    Posts: 332

    Location: poole

    as the others said it will be fine