1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is the 2405FPW worth it even at it's current price?

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Psymonkee, 5 Mar 2006.

  1. Psymonkee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 13,938

    Location: St.Andrews

    I really really rather fancy one of those beautys sitting on my desk but I can't really decide if it's worth it at ~700 quid or so.

    I currently use 2 x 17" TFT's so although I would lose a little width of screen I would gain more height. Also I have begun to notice the limitations of twin screens with the bezel down the middle so I have been considering a change :o

    I will have an oppertunity to pick up one of these lovely looking monitors in person next weekend as I head south for a LAN so you guys have till Thursday night to help me decide :D

    Go! :>
     
  2. Zarniwoop

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Feb 2004

    Posts: 132

    Location: Wickford, Essex

    Go on, treat yourself! I can honestly say that it is the best thing I have ever bought in connection with PC's. The sheer size of the thing is amazing and the resolution is liberating. The brightness and clarity of the screen is far better than I was expecting. It has just about every sort of connector you could want (with the exception of a HDMI connector, but that didn't bother me) and even the stand is good.

    Having said that, I was lucky enough to get one without dead/stuck/blown pixels (touch wood!).

    Get one and enjoy.
     
  3. BurningHorizons

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,872

    Location: Pateley Bridge

    As above - best thing I've ever bought for my PC.
    You won't regret it.
     
  4. AWPC

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Dec 2005

    Posts: 9,943

    Yeah its worth it especially considering it was over £300 nore a few weeks ago but consider that you need either GTX SLI, Xfire, 7800GTX512, X1800/X1900 to run anything @ the native 1920x1200 smoothy and even then some games lag a little when a lot is happening onscreen.

    For max FPS X1800 or 1900 Xfire or GTX512 SLI is required to future proof a little. A 7900 dual GPU would probably be enough also.

    Trouble is that without vsync enabled tearing is very noticeable due to the siz of the screen so you end up being limited to either 30/60FPS. Depending on the game some like FEAR struggle unless you have a very high end setup allround.
     
  5. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 22,650

    Location: Guernsey

    Thanks for that..I been thinking it was a problem with my 2405.
     
  6. Agent WD40

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2005

    Posts: 710

    Same here *embarrased*

    Agent.
     
  7. Vigil

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Jan 2006

    Posts: 82

    Consider also that soon you won't be able to buy one new from anywhere but the manufacturer (to avoid naming names ;-)) themselves, and look at their prices.

    There are so many pixels in the beast, I just hope none are bad :-/
     
  8. coneypark

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 485

    I have to agree with everyone else - best thing I ever bought and had no dead/stuck pixels or any problems what so ever with it. Saying that this is my third Dell TFT and never had any problems with any of them.

    As long as you have a good graphics card you will be ok but the display does a good job when not running at native rez as well.

    Get it now while you can as they are going to be brining out a newer version soon
     
  9. AWPC

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Dec 2005

    Posts: 9,943

    They are definately an amazing TFT and mine was perfect as in no dead/lazy pixels or backlightning issues. Build date was Oct2005 and got it Dec2005 from OCUK so should imagine they are getting the best stock as it also had a vga cable connected so someone (dell perhaps) must have pre-tested for dead/lazy pixels.

    Do not let the computer power required to drive one totally put you off as obviously newer faster kit is coming out all the time and this TFT is probably one of the last ones (from Dell) to include all the inputs. You can always game @ a slightly lower than native 1920x1200 res and it still looks ok just not quite as sharp as native (which is very clear making other res look poor in comparision but still better than most other TFTs anyway!)

    If you have a PS2 or Xbox then this monitor looks very good via the component inputs. Some PS2 games which have native progressive scan look very good on it.
     
  10. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands


    Not quite true. I can run COD2 at 1920x1200 with 4X AA on my 6600gt in SLI, even on just one card I get perfectly fine framerate. But I agree on things like FEAR etc, then yes you will need a beast of a GPU to run at native res.
     
  11. Ste

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,781

    Yes- do it :D
     
  12. Zarniwoop

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Feb 2004

    Posts: 132

    Location: Wickford, Essex

    Go on, you know you want to!
     
  13. Psymonkee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 13,938

    Location: St.Andrews

    Hmmm been pondering about this all day and still not come up with a firm decision. Worse still people are trying to talk me out of it on IRC....However I can see the USB Ports being handy and the memory card reader could also be hugely useful too...

    Technically there is nothing wrong with my current setup so no reason to change. I don't do any webdesign or any 'work' so to speak so it would end up being used for games. Will it hold up to gaming OK?

    I have a 7800GT and could SLi it if I run into problems so system power isn't an issue...
     
  14. Alty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Oct 2004

    Posts: 1,878

    Location: East Riding of Yorkshire

    I am an avid gamer and once too was dubious and worried about making such a purchase. I succumbed to the temptation and can hand on heart say it has been the best purchase I made for my PC. I play Battlefield 2, FEAR, Quake 4, Counter Strike Source, Natural Selection, Command & Conquer, etc etc. This monitor handles them fine. It just takes a lil getting used to such a big screen but once you do you will never go back to anything less than 24" - thats the only drawback imo. Jus make sure you have a decent gfx card.
     
  15. Vigil

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Jan 2006

    Posts: 82

    Alty, do you not find a slight display lag in fast FPS games? I hear some people do.
     
  16. Alty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Oct 2004

    Posts: 1,878

    Location: East Riding of Yorkshire

    Once you get used to a TFT it becomes 2nd nature n not offputting
     
  17. Vigil

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Jan 2006

    Posts: 82

    Are you saying yes there is a lag? :-(
     
  18. Psymonkee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 13,938

    Location: St.Andrews

    That kinda price only makes me want one more :(
     
  19. Smiley Man

    Soldato

    Joined: 17 Apr 2003

    Posts: 6,518

    Location: hOme

    i paid £530 for a 6 month old one and its fantastic

    quality peice of kit, put my imagequest Q17 to shame in ever area

    i can run BF2 on ok settings on my 6800, dont let the high res put you off, tis a stunning monitor

    [​IMG] ;) go on, you know you want it :D
     
  20. Psymonkee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 13,938

    Location: St.Andrews

    I certainly want it but 700 notes is a scary number :o

    Only just got a Sammy 32" LCD TV last November :p