1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this build good?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Acemath, 23 Apr 2010.

  1. Acemath

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2010

    Posts: 190

    Hello all,

    Been scorching the internet for my new build and after quite some research i finally came up with this build.Now i need your all knowing skills to tell me if there's something that needs changing?

    1,0 Corsair Obsidian Series 800D
    1,0 Corsair Power Supply 750Watt
    1,0 Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64BIT NL (OEM)
    1,0 DVD-RW LG GH22NS (SATAII - Black)
    1,0 Club3D HD5970 (2GB GDDR5 - Clock 2x 725Mhz - Fan)
    1,0 Intel Core i7 920 (2.66GHz - 8MB - Box)
    1,0 Gigabyte X58A-UD5
    1,0 Lian Li 5,25" Fan Control-Thermometer TR-5
    1,0 Scythe Mugen 2 SCMG-2000
    3,0 Noiseblocker NB-BlackSilent PRO-PK2 - 140 mm
    1,0 Upgrade Garanty 3 Jaar
    1,0 Corsair 6GB DDRIII 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24 Dominator
    1,0 Intel SSD 80GB X-25M (SSDSA2MH080G2C1)
    1,0 Samsung 1TB (3.5" - SATAII - 7200Rpm - 32MB)

    What you guys think?Is this okay to play current and next gen games with all eye candy on?Problem is:Not sure if it's allowed to mention here,but since i'm from Belgium,it's gonna be ordered from a Belgian shop,and sadly enough hardware is EXPENSIVE over here.Price for the complete rig is 2350 Euro's(almost £2040)...Is there a way to drop the price a bit??So i can look my Gf in the eyes again,loool?

    Many thanks in advance :D
     
  2. MonkeykingZX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Sep 2009

    Posts: 1,170

    Location: Cambridgeshire

    swap the ram down to Corsair XMS3 6GB that should save £70 right there

    could swap the case down to a cm690 II that should save you around another £130

    but you could always swap down to a Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R to save around £40

    this all depends on the prices of the site you order on though :D
     
    Last edited: 23 Apr 2010
  3. Acemath

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2010

    Posts: 190

  4. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,378

    Location: Planet Earth

    I would wait another week or so TBH. The Phenom II X6 is being released next week and this should cause the prices of the Core i5 and Core i7 CPUs to go down.
     
  5. Acemath

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2010

    Posts: 190

    Maybe you are right CAT,but on the other hand:There's always something new around the corner,this way you can keep on waiting...
     
  6. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,378

    Location: Planet Earth

    Considering the last major CPU release from AMD was last year, and the next one will be at the end of the year(or even next year) it make sense to wait a week or two. The Core i7 920,i7 930 and i7 860 had no AMD equivalents so Intel priced them at whatever level they wanted to! OTH, the processors under the Core i5 750 have been more competitively priced as there are many competing AMD processors in this price range. Even the Core i5 750 has risen in price in the UK as AMD has no competitor to it in the £150+ market.

    If you want to save money you need to be patient.
     
    Last edited: 23 Apr 2010
  7. Acemath

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2010

    Posts: 190

    Okay,But let's say that my pc dies on me tomorrow.Is this a good build or not?
     
  8. [email protected]

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Nov 2008

    Posts: 27,833

    It's a spec that will play any game, so yes, it is a good build.
     
  9. Vir

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,860

    Location: Netherlands

    Looks like a good build to me, do you need all the graphical horsepower though, wouldn't a 5850/5870 be enough? Should save a few euros.

    Je kan ook in Nederland bestellen, volgensmij wel iets goedkoper ofniet?
     
    Last edited: 23 Apr 2010
  10. Acemath

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2010

    Posts: 190

    I noticed that those Noiseblockers are 1200 Tpm?And 20 Dba.Isn't that a tad too much for this case,as in:i want as silent as possible?

    Goedkoper wel,maar dan zit je met een heel gedoe als er eens iets stuk gaat :D
     
  11. Acemath

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2010

    Posts: 190

    You are right about the horsepower.Downside is that the 5870 still is almost impossible to get in Belgium.Or when you find one in stock it's WAY overpriced :(
     
  12. wozzizname

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,219

    Location: Rainham, Kent

  13. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,378

    Location: Planet Earth

    What about a pair of HD5850 1GB cards??

    AFAIK,at the same clockspeeds there is not much difference between an HD5850 1GB and a HD5870 1GB.

    BTW,what is the size of the monitor you intend to use??
     
  14. Acemath

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2010

    Posts: 190

    Have a 24inch Samsung right now,planning on buying another one,maybe 2 later this year.

    Even the 5850's are pretty rare to find around here.Don't know why it is like that,maybe Ati/nVidia think that Belgium not really is a country and there for not worthy receiving cards :D
     
  15. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,378

    Location: Planet Earth

    I think that you need to do a day trip to France or Germany! :p
     
  16. trentlad

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Feb 2010

    Posts: 3,682

    That will be one hell of a kick ass system mate. I don't think you need a 750W PSU, unless you plan on getting two graphics cards in there. If you really wanted to save cash then a smaller SSD could save a few hundred, 40Gig for your OS should be plenty.
     
  17. Acemath

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2010

    Posts: 190

    Another question.The Corsair PSU is the HX version,does that have the 8- and 6-pin connector that's needed for the 5970?
     
  18. Acemath

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Apr 2010

    Posts: 190

    Oh yeah,is it necessary to put 3 fans on top of the case?Or can i leave it like it is?
     
  19. wozzizname

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,219

    Location: Rainham, Kent

    It's not necessary to have three fans - I'm just running mine with one top fan to see how it goes, and everything is running fine at the moment.
     
  20. trentlad

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Feb 2010

    Posts: 3,682

    The HX just implies that it's a modular power supply. So instead of getting a bunch of wires coming straight out of the PSU you get a series of sockets and a bunch of separate cables. That way you only need to connect up the cables you need.

    I can't find a photo of the socket type that the 5970 uses for power, but I'm guessing it's the same as the 4870. If no one answers your question here, just check if the 4870 has the same power socket as your 5970. If they are the same then the Corsair PSU will have the plugs to fit your 5970.