1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is Virgin media my only option???

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by flamezmack, 28 Sep 2009.

  1. flamezmack

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Apr 2007

    Posts: 265

    Location: East london

    Just moved into a house share..it doesn't have a bt phone line is virgin media my only option??..im a heavy downloader and ive heard about there traffic management and its not sounding to great!!..any other providers i could use that dont require a bt phone line???..thanks
     
  2. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,596

    Location: Wiltshire

    Just set your downloads over night. You'll need a phone line installed if you want an ADSL provider.
     
  3. flamezmack

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Apr 2007

    Posts: 265

    Location: East london

    my only option yes??
     
  4. Immsy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,367

    No as he said, you can go with ADSL too but will have to pay to install a BT line.
     
  5. flamezmack

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Apr 2007

    Posts: 265

    Location: East london

    ok..cheers
     
  6. capriboy1978

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 May 2009

    Posts: 1,699

    Location: Derbyshire

    3g dongle :p

    and a big trust fund
     
  7. PistolPete

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Sep 2008

    Posts: 3,993

    Location: By the sea, West Sussex

    On Virgin's 20MB you can download over 100GB a day (assuming you get the full download speed) even with the throttling.
     
  8. Qu3

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Jul 2009

    Posts: 457

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    Heavy downloader....? Why not 50mb?
     
  9. PistolPete

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Sep 2008

    Posts: 3,993

    Location: By the sea, West Sussex

    Oh yeah, forgot about 50Mb.

    450GB / day enough?
     
  10. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 16,229

    If you are in a house share why not just get something like a sky package. Net, tv and phone line. The phone line makes the net cheaper and hardly costs anything.

    Now are 20mb sky max package is sorted its very reliable and get constant good speeds and no caps. I get around 1.6mb/s now
     
  11. window

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Nov 2008

    Posts: 1,091

    I use virgin 10mb package, and its completely useless for downloading anytime in the day. i think after about 1 gig dl speeds drop to 50kbs
     
  12. PistolPete

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Sep 2008

    Posts: 3,993

    Location: By the sea, West Sussex

    If this is the case you need to get on to them.

    It should be after 3GB from 10am-3pm or 1.5GB from 4pm-9pm downloaded, or 800Mb uploaded from 3pm-8pm and you'll be cut to 2.5Mb/s.
    Granted hitting 3GB could happen in less than an hour, and 1.5GB in less than 30 mins if you download full tilt, however you can still hit nearly 50GB in a day outside of these times.
     
  13. Linx

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Oct 2008

    Posts: 346

    Location: England, Worthing

    That makes sense, aka virgin media sucks balls when i was with them a year ago they didnt have this traffic managing bulox.
     
  14. Meatball

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 6,282

    Location: St Albans

    With Virgin there is no download limit, they simply limit the speed you can download at. Virgin have the most reliable broadband and is mostly true to speed, go with Virgin :).
     
  15. Jabbs

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 7,720

    Location: Rugeley

    No limit at all my mate does stupid amounts on his 50mb line we talking 2tb+ a month he has never had so much as a letter, same when he was on 20meg he did stupid amounts, they offer what they say unlimited downloads but you have to put up with a stm which isn't that bad.
     
  16. Meatball

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 6,282

    Location: St Albans

    50Mb connections have no capping/limit :) (IIRC)
     
  17. Jabbs

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 7,720

    Location: Rugeley

    ^^I know mate i am on 50m atm and enjoying it but lets face the fact its just a matter of time before they introduce one.
     
  18. PistolPete

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Sep 2008

    Posts: 3,993

    Location: By the sea, West Sussex

    Virgin had always had the STM, they just may not have enforced it immediately but was mid 2007 when they started
     
  19. window

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Nov 2008

    Posts: 1,091

    so are you saying i can dl 4.5 gig between 10am to 9 pm altogether... hmm didnt realise this. I'll check it out this weekend..
     
  20. jakspyder

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2008

    Posts: 3,043

    Location: London

    we just mvoed into a shared flat (student diggs) with no BT land line, you wouldnt believe the trouble we had trying to get a BT line put in (it turns out its nearly impossible cos nobody at BT speaks english) so we just had to give up after 2 motnhs of solid phone arguments, virgin were up and running 10 days after placing the order, not one single mistake and we are very pleaes with our 50mb service!

    just avoid BT like the plague!