1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

It keeps turning on!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by geuben, 3 Jun 2010.

  1. geuben

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Mar 2006

    Posts: 1,740

    My pc keeps turning itself on if its plugged in, but then it doesn't boot properly (fans spin up differently and there's no visual output). I've stripped it down to just the MB,CPU and RAM connected to the PSU and it's still doing it?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. AMG

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Aug 2008

    Posts: 4,702

    Location: lincs, spalding

    as soon as you plug it in? check BIOS


    sure there is something in there with ( if AC lose)
     
  3. freddie64

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Mar 2008

    Posts: 3,194

    Could be a faulty power switch.
     
  4. K1LLSW1TCH

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2009

    Posts: 26,781

    Not sure if this would actually be the problem, but wake on LAN might be enabled? :)

    Oh, and the fans spinning up differently and no monitor output sounds like a problem I had a few times before. My fans would all spin up to what sounded like their fastest setting and the monitor would just blink standby repeatedly. In the end I just reseated the CPU, Gfx card and RAM and it mysteriously solved the problem.
     
  5. QlimaxUK

    Soldato

    Joined: 14 Oct 2007

    Posts: 5,338

    Location: wubalubadubdub

    turn off at mains, disconnect power switch from board, does it still switch on?
    if so, reset bios jumpers
     
  6. frying_pan_cat

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Nov 2006

    Posts: 728

    Location: Devon

    This

    and this. I had a similar problem and it turned out to be a combination of these two. I just use the reset switch to turn on now and don't bother having a reset switch as i CBA to replace the power one.
     
  7. infernox

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Feb 2010

    Posts: 3,219

    Location: England

    try a diff socket :) or check bios
     
  8. geuben

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Mar 2006

    Posts: 1,740

    I've taken it all apart and reseated everything, still turns on (but not properly) with only PSU plugged into the MB (no power switch connected)