1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just how stable is Vista Beta -- good enough for unsupervised 24/7 running?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Lysander, 12 Jul 2006.

  1. Lysander

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 16,417

    Location: Flatland

    Memphis has very kindly offered to send me the Vista Beta since I had burning problems with mine. However, since my company will be starting an internet radio station next week [and before anyone asks, yes, it's all legal - double/treble checked!!!], the PC will have to be on most of the time.

    So, is Vista stable enough for this? It's not going to pack up when I'm out for the day with the music playlist running, is it? What serious glitches has anyone found so far?
     
  2. FirebarUK

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Dec 2004

    Posts: 5,639

    Location: Dorset

    I don't know but surely running something 'production' like this on Vista or any beta OS is a BAD idea.... ?
     
  3. Lysander

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 16,417

    Location: Flatland

    Yes, that's why I was asking...
     
  4. dayloon

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2002

    Posts: 1,220

    Location: Stafford

    No, it's not stable enough for that. Wait for the final release.
     
  5. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Definately a big no-no.
     
  6. afraser2k

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,518

    Location: Glasgow

  7. Lysander

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 16,417

    Location: Flatland

    I don't really understand the differences between Window's Server and XP. Obviously it's designed to be on a lot of the time because it's a server program but will it run on my system ok? Will I still be able to play games etc on it?
     
  8. FirebarUK

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Dec 2004

    Posts: 5,639

    Location: Dorset

    I suggested even contemplating it is a BAD idea. Don't put a Beta OS into a vital function within your production environment.
     
  9. Syph

    Soldato

    Joined: 22 Jan 2004

    Posts: 5,524

    Location: Nottingham

    I didn't think it was legal to use in production environment, just testing... or am I thinking Office 2007 Beta? :confused: :)
     
  10. growse

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,139

    Location: Ironing

    Aye, probably wouldn't be legal running in a corporate production environment. And it's nuts to do that anyway.
     
  11. Lysander

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 16,417

    Location: Flatland

    Looks like I'll have to fork out for XP home edition next week. Ah well, it's only sixty quid.
     
  12. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    You're going to be hosting your company off an XP Home machine? :/
     
  13. Lysander

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 16,417

    Location: Flatland

    No no, only the radio station will broadcast from an XP home machine. The company runs off a couple of Linux servers in Baltimore :p