1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

just killed my dfi infinity

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by lozza23_uk, 25 Feb 2006.

  1. lozza23_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,536

    well, yesterday turned on my PC. nothing.
    how odd.
    check the cables, all seems fine. it turns on but nothing comming out.

    reset the cmos. nothing.
    replaced the chip, didnt work
    replaced the ram, didnt work
    replaced the agp, didnt work

    hmm put my old asus a7s333 (or something) mobo in and booted first time.

    damn mobo's.
    so about time for a new machine...bit of pciE action.......unless.......

    has anyone else had this problem with a dfi infinity nforce 2 mobo?
    literally nothing working. turning on, mobo lights on, but no output at all. no HD loading noises, nothing.

    any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. Greyhound

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Oct 2003

    Posts: 395

    It sounds like the bios fried itself - I think this was a common problem with early versions of the board. Head over to www.dfi-street.com and somebody shold be able to point you in the direction of a new bios chip :)
     
  3. lozza23_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,536

    ok nice one cheers.
     
  4. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    yeah mines also screwed - these boards are very tempremental

    think maybe mine is the bios aswell - will look into it
     
  5. lozza23_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,536

    thinking of just replacing the whole PC....but cash is always an issue.
    and i need new drums, and I need new snares, and I need and I need and I need......

    you get the idea. consumer hell!
     
    Last edited: 26 Feb 2006
  6. loggan26

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 99

    Location: Alternate Universe

    Insert Key trick may help if its just a case of pushing the OC too much.

    If you have Oced a bit much then a power off at the wall completley. Then power back on, then hold down the insert key on your keyboard and press the power up on your case still holding the insert key the whole time. Hold it till you here a beep or your screen comes to life. Get back in the bios and set your settings how you prefer.

    If that dont work then the long cmos clear........

    Have a look at my FAQ here at the troubleshooting section it will tell ya how to do the long clear right.

    http://www.logan.eclipse.co.uk/dfi_ui___lpb_faq.htm

    MMmmm what else oh yeah a old stick of pc2100 might get ya booted.


    If none of that has worked then.............................

    YOu got a classic case of a corrupt bios, you either need to hotflash the bios rom you have or you need a new bios rom, or you need a bios saviour with it flashed to bios of your choice.

    YOu can purchase a new bios rom programed with bin of choice in UK from these guys....

    http://www.motherboard-biosflash.co.uk/

    Hope it helps man ;)
     
  7. lozza23_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,536

    it wasnt oc'd at the time...but this mobo has always seemed to randonly drop its settings (sometimes on a cold boot) and i would have to redo them all.

    never thought it was too clever.

    I think I will go as long as I can on the old board, and do the whole machine maybe in 3 weeks time.

    but only realised last nigth (whilst dropping 10g of a portable drive) that the old board is USB 1...nightmare!
    2 hours later............ you get the idea.
     
  8. Synergy

    Associate

    Joined: 20 Feb 2006

    Posts: 36

    I assume you tried resetting the BIOS using the on-board jumper? (all boards have one)
     
  9. lozza23_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,536

    yeah tried ripping the battery out as well. that didnt help.
     
  10. Synergy

    Associate

    Joined: 20 Feb 2006

    Posts: 36

    Just double check the power is not plugged in the back when you take the battery out, and try resetting it.
     
  11. quadboi

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,606

    Dont everyone thnk that lol