1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just ordered.....

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by diogenese, 29 Jul 2006.

  1. diogenese

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,023

    Location: Temuka, New Zealand

    An X2 4400 1Mb, I just hope there are some left on monday!
    Just too cheap to resist at the moment, especially with a spare lanparty NF4 expert motherboard lying around :o
    I will have to retire my XP2500m though :(
     
  2. verbal

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 May 2006

    Posts: 1,189

    Location: Manchester, UK

    I am strongly considering doing the same. I'm a little bit concerned over the extra heat that the 4400 will kick out compared to my 3200. Don't like having a hot room.
     
  3. RandomTom

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Sep 2004

    Posts: 8,541

    Back in the day I swear these used to cost around £320, they've come down in price well, that's a nice buy if you're not considering to fully upgrade into Conroe. :)
     
  4. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 4 Nov 2002

    Posts: 15,454

    Location: West Berkshire

    AMD went price-drop crazy when Conroe came out. It was expected. :)
     
  5. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Looks like I'm the only one *losing* folding power...
     
  6. Joe42

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,172

    Location: Northants

    They were about that yes, and my opty was £350. The joys of competition. ;)
     
  7. diogenese

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,023

    Location: Temuka, New Zealand

    I'm going to wait on conroe, I suppose I'm still an AMD fanboy since my K6-2 OCed so well :eek: that shows my age too! Also I still haven't seen a review that I trust, I'll believe that a bottom of the range £100 conroe wipes the floor with a FX62 when someone shows me a range of folding ppd's :rolleyes:
     
  8. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    If the Core Duo results are anything to go by, clock for clock my X2 is beaten.
     
  9. diogenese

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,023

    Location: Temuka, New Zealand

    I can get over 500 ppd on an opty 146 @ 2.6 Ghz

    Project : 1478
    Core : Gromacs
    Frames : 100
    Credit : 364

    -- BLUE --

    Min. Time / Frame : 10mn 12s - 513.88 ppd
    Avg. Time / Frame : 10mn 12s - 513.88 ppd
     
  10. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    I see that, and raise you:

    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showpost.php?p=7549378&postcount=4

    A 1.66ghz Core Duo has you beaten :p
     
  11. diogenese

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,023

    Location: Temuka, New Zealand

  12. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Not sure.
     
  13. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 4 Nov 2002

    Posts: 15,454

    Location: West Berkshire

    Not a lot. I was running on reduced powah so any figures I find will be skewed.
     
  14. diogenese

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,023

    Location: Temuka, New Zealand

    Sure they are a vast improvement over current cpus I don't doubt that, but are they up to the hype? I'll wait a bit longer. What happened to cell processors!

    They should get better ppd's as they can use the better intel SSE3 compiler.
     
  15. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 4 Nov 2002

    Posts: 15,454

    Location: West Berkshire

    I would advise not talking to Sony about cell processors. Especially not the ones in the PS3 anyway. :eek:

    And yes, they do live up to the hype. The top end Conroe beats an FX62 at pretty much everything at stock, and at least the ES versions overclock like hell. :eek:
     
  16. diogenese

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,023

    Location: Temuka, New Zealand

    Maybe next time then:) I can't affford any more stuff right now:o
     
  17. Stan_Lite

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Apr 2004

    Posts: 107,331

    Location: In bed with your sister

    There's a guy in the OC forum, has got a 6300 to 3.5 GHz on stock volts (from 1.86) so far :eek:

    He hasn't posted any benches yet but it would appear these chips are awesome.

    He's using the Gigabyte DS4 board which he has at 500MHz at the moment and he reckons they're good for 600 :eek:

    Must start saving :o

    Stan :)
     
  18. Steevo38

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Oct 2002

    Posts: 708

    Location: Colchester

    Just ordered the following.


    G.Skill 2GB DDR2 HZ PC2-6400 (2x1GB) CAS4 Dual Channel Kit

    Connect3D ATI Radeon X1800 XT 256MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI

    Gigabyte GA_965P_DS4 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard

    Thermaltake Mini Typhoon 3 in 1 Heatpipe (Socket 939/754/775/AM2) CPU Cooler

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB ST3250620AS SATA-II 16MB Cache

    Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 "LGA775 Conroe" 1.86GHz (1066FSB)



    Should make a nice folding box. ;)
    Might take you a little longer to catch me now Stan....

    Fold on team.
    Steevo
     
  19. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 4 Nov 2002

    Posts: 15,454

    Location: West Berkshire

    Catch me if you can. Got down to 7 days at one point, but the gap is going in the right direction again now. :D
     
  20. Steevo38

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Oct 2002

    Posts: 708

    Location: Colchester


    Why does it feel like you are just toying with me! :D