1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just set up new system!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by e36Adz, 4 May 2006.

  1. e36Adz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2003

    Posts: 11,312

    Location: Manchester, UK

    Changed the following bits...

    Asus A8V Deluxe (AGP)
    Club3d 6800GT (AGP)
    1GB OCZ Gold 3200

    to this...

    Asus A8N-SLi Premium
    Aopen 7800GT (PCI-E)
    2GB OCZ Gold 3200 cas 2

    Athlon 64 3500 (socket 939)
    74GB WD Raptor
    300GB Maxtor Internal & 300GB Maxtor External
    24" Dell widescreen


    I picked up the asus s8n sli premium from ocuk b-grade for only £30, and even though it was just the bare motherboard on its own, its working perfectly :D I also picked up the 7800GT from ocuk.. brand new for less then £100 all in :D :D

    Iv run 3d mark and got:

    3d mark 01 - 22,946
    3d mark 03 - 15,980
    3d mark 05 - 7916
    3d mark 06 - 3753

    Do these seem about right? The A64 is not overclocked at all, its running at 2.20Ghz. The gfx card is running at optimal frequencies (475/1.19Ghz), the ram I set to cas 2 and thats about it really.
     
  2. robertgilbert86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,162

    Location: London

    Hey I've got a very similar set up to you- only difference is 2GB Geil value ram (CAS 2.5, DDR400, 2x1GB), AMD64 3700+ 939 (clocked to 2.5GHz) and just normal hard drives.

    3d mark 05 I got 7334 with clocks at 442/1027 so your scores look alright to me, my card won't run stabily over 440 I think though.
     
  3. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,116

    Location: Intel HQ

    3d mark 01 - 22,946
    3d mark 03 - 15,980
    3d mark 05 - 7916
    3d mark 06 - 3753

    3dmark 01 seems really poor.
    scores are ment to be influenced by total system performace than just graphics performance. My celeron 2.8 (at 2.8) with a 7900gt gets more than that :p
     
  4. e36Adz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2003

    Posts: 11,312

    Location: Manchester, UK

    I couldnt really be bothered trying to overclock the gfx card bit by bit, I just did 'detect optimum' and it stopped on those speeds so I just left it at that. All the 3d marks ran ok so I presume its fine to just leave it at that speed isnt it?

    Glad to see the score seems about right though :)
     
  5. e36Adz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2003

    Posts: 11,312

    Location: Manchester, UK

    Isnt the 3d mark 01 score more CPU dependent? Im sure if I was to overclock the 3500+ the score would shoot up.. maybe? :/