1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kingston SSD Deal. Very sweet!!

Discussion in 'Latest News, Deals & Special Offers' started by Andrew Moore, 10 Aug 2012.

  1. chippy08

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Sep 2008

    Posts: 4,010

    Do you really need a 30cm cable i buy them from 15cm up but not 30cm there way too long.
     
  2. marshallman05

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Jun 2012

    Posts: 436

    Location: Devon

    Those are the only 6GB/s ones OcUK have by the looks of things...
     
  3. MatsyLR

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,686

    Location: UK

  4. chippy08

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Sep 2008

    Posts: 4,010

    Buy a 20cm cable i wish o.c would get 20cm cables in asked but fell on death ears
     
    Last edited: 13 Aug 2012
  5. MatsyLR

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,686

    Location: UK

    Last edited: 13 Aug 2012
  6. Surveyor

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Sep 2010

    Posts: 23,806

  7. MatsyLR

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,686

    Location: UK

    Oh...I was under the impression you had to get a 6gbps cable to get the full speed....
    Thanks :o

    Looks like I'll get the Akasa one(when I eventually get a SSD), 15cm should be fine, the motherboard slot is like...right next to where my SSD would be mounted.
     
    Last edited: 13 Aug 2012
  8. Andrew Moore

    MSI Rep

    Joined: 20 Jul 2009

    Posts: 4,511

    Location: 20ft from bed

    The rebuy is more than they are selling for. If they want to effectively sell below cost then let them. When they buy new stocks they wont be able to do deals and we will. It all boils down to intelligent buying and selling which in some cases they fail at miserably.
     
  9. marshallman05

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Jun 2012

    Posts: 436

    Location: Devon

    Well they may be buying at a lower cost due to bigger size order maybe.... I highly doubt they could sell for under cost price tbh :/
     
  10. MatsyLR

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,686

    Location: UK

    Oh just found a old sata cable in the corner of my old pc (ribbon cables etc) and a Molex to SATA Power Adapter I didn't even know I had...
    I'm guessing I can just use this sata cable and it will be perfectly fine for a SSD? I'm pretty sure its one of the old sata 1 cables...the pc is very old...
     
  11. Wolf11

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Aug 2003

    Posts: 582

    To be honest it does happen...in my business a competitor was selling an item cheaper than we could buy it for so I kicked off big time with the supplier thinking this other company were getting better discounts etc and after a few arguments he showed me an invoice and they were paying exactly what we were !! . I think in a lot of cases they treat it as a loss leader and hope people will then add other products to the order (ones they make a profit on) or stay a repeat customer.
     
  12. pc_monkey

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Nov 2011

    Posts: 712

    Location: East Anglia

    Ive got one in my basket but really holding out for 256 gb samsung or crucial
     
  13. Andrew Moore

    MSI Rep

    Joined: 20 Jul 2009

    Posts: 4,511

    Location: 20ft from bed

    We buy more and no, they could be on old stock and will end up killing their run rates when they hit a rebuy higher than they buy for.
     
  14. Andrew Moore

    MSI Rep

    Joined: 20 Jul 2009

    Posts: 4,511

    Location: 20ft from bed


    Precisely right! :)
     
  15. Surveyor

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Sep 2010

    Posts: 23,806

    Give it a try.

    It'll work but if it doesn't work at the full speed for some reason you can just get another cable and swap over.
     
  16. Hagar

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Mar 2010

    Posts: 10,655

    Location: 5 degrees starboard

    Shipped at 16:20, DPD next day, so probably tomorrow.
     
  17. Locky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Oct 2003

    Posts: 12,648

    Location: Leicestershire/Derbyshire

    Who cares if company's are making a loss on products to get your custom, it's a win - win for us customers.
     
  18. scwba06

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 May 2012

    Posts: 879

    If that's the deal I'm thinking of it is a complete kit do your paying extra for something most people won't need
     
  19. marshallman05

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Jun 2012

    Posts: 436

    Location: Devon

    Not the extra kit I'm worrying about its the drives itself. All round better product.
     
  20. 1pudding1

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Jul 2003

    Posts: 967

    Location: Cornwall/Bristol

    So this should be delivered tomorrow. does anyone know if the firmware would need updating before I do a fresh install of Win 7? Moving from a standard HD, so any other things to do apart from possible firmware before unplugging the old HD and starting with this? What about Windows activation, does the existing copy need deactivating? Cheers.