1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

lcd for x360

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by SolidSnake, 13 May 2006.

  1. SolidSnake

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Jun 2003

    Posts: 421

    Hello people

    Just got me X360 the other day, was thinking about buying a lcd tv in my room (around 20") as i was told i would get better quality from the X360. Am i better off buying a VGA cable to play on me lcd pc monitor or better off buying a new lcd screen? is there any disadvantages of playing through my pc lcd screen? thanks
     
  2. Mud

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,186

    Location: Bristol

    What size is your TFT? Some games don't handle 5:4 screens well (17"/19" 1280x1024 screens) although most are fine. It really comes down to which LCD TV you choose, some are magnificent, but not all.
     
  3. Yas786

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 48,303

    Location: All over the world...

    Tbh the best type of LCD you can get for the 360 is the HD ones, i think the smallest they do is 26" though but cant be too sure.
    I just recently bought a 32" Samsung LCD HDTV and the 360 really does look the business on it. In fact im more in love with my 360 than i ever was, well since i got my new lcd tv...havent been able to prise myself away when im in front of it lol:p
     
  4. budge1972

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,409

    Location: bicester

    I Bought a samsung syncmaster 940 mw which is a 19" widescreen lcd tv/monitor 1440 x 900 HDTV.Cost me £299 and its fantastic for hi def gaming on the 360.
    Prior to that i was using a 15"digimate widescreen monitor at 1280 x720 (720p) which can be picked up for around 100 notes

    Both are awesome ;)
     
  5. Andelusion

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Oct 2003

    Posts: 14,333

    Location: Huddersfield

    I've just ordered a Samsung LE26R74BDX, that's the 26", supposed to be very good for the 360s, it's the new model - only came out last month I think and is the upgrade of the samsung everyone seems to recommend.
     
  6. Kreeeee

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Jul 2004

    Posts: 42,604

    Location: /* */

    Rather than create a new thread I thought I'd post in this one. Which LCD PC screen do you recommend for use with the 360? I have a 1280*1024 18" monitor connected to the 360 via VGA but most games give me borders. Are there any 1360×768 monitors in existence or a widescreen monitor that works well with the 360s output?
     
  7. Ryan

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Mar 2003

    Posts: 411

    Location: Cardiff, south wales


    I'm currently using a 19" widescreen - Acer AL1916W. I paid £175 for it from that rainforest retailer and bang for the buck, its great. I don't get any border issues either.

    Regards

    Ryan
     
  8. McDaniel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,872

    Location: Southend-on-Sea

    My 2005FPW does well for me, never noticed issues.
     
  9. Kreeeee

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Jul 2004

    Posts: 42,604

    Location: /* */

    I take it you both upscale the image and don't use 1:1 pixel mapping. How does that look?
     
  10. McDaniel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,872

    Location: Southend-on-Sea

    err? i dunno i just plugged it in
     
  11. Andelusion

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Oct 2003

    Posts: 14,333

    Location: Huddersfield

    loler.
     
  12. Ryan

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Mar 2003

    Posts: 411

    Location: Cardiff, south wales


    That's just about what I did :p

    cranked the 360 output to max and pressed the "auto" button on the Acer :D

    Ryan
     
  13. McDaniel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,872

    Location: Southend-on-Sea

    its true, pluged the VGA in, set the xbox to the top res (though i think the monitor uses 1280x1024 ne way) - set it to widescreen, and thats it. The monitor must auto do something like upscale or whatever
     
  14. Andelusion

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Oct 2003

    Posts: 14,333

    Location: Huddersfield

    Aye probably is the best method, your blunt reply just made me laugh that's all :p
     
  15. Doug

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,296

    Location: Newcastle

    Ditto. Using aspect scaling to keep the aspect ratio.
     
  16. Nogimmix

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Jan 2003

    Posts: 2,742

    Location: Kent

    I've currently got my 360 connect to my JVC 32" LCD and it looks gorgeous!!
    Yesterday I brought a Packard Bell 19" WS TFT (£220), it has 2xVGA and 1xDVI inputs, yes you did read correctly 2xVGA. This monitor is excellent, I decided to connect the 360(VGA1), PC(DVI) and another PC(VGA2) just to test it out and it works a treat. Switching between them all was simple, the picture quality is lovely and I didn't notice any blurring at all.

    Even though playing COD2/Oblivion on a 32" LCD is top class this monitor actually surprised me. :)
     
  17. oweneades

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jul 2005

    Posts: 9,013

    Have a Saumsung HDTV here. Its only a 19" widescreen but its fine for me.

    Works a treat with the 360 and because it has so many inputs I can have all of my equipment running off of it. (360 through component, Freeview through Scart, Laptop through VGA).
     
  18. Yas786

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 48,303

    Location: All over the world...


    Yup i went for the 32" model from samsung LE32R74BDX and its a superb lcd. Ok maybe not the best but hell i cant tell the difference between a £1000 lcd and this one which cost me a shade under £800 :p.
    Bad eyesight you see:p, contacts do help tho hehe.
     
  19. Chiribo

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 668

    Location: Southwest

    I use my 360 with my Dell 2405, put the xbox onto 1080i output and put the monitor into 1:1 pixel mode, creates small borders at the top and bottom, but the quality is lovely :)