1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Leave Sky BB to Virgin ?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by BEN_UK, 25 Sep 2009.

  1. BEN_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,929

    Location: Nottingham

    Hello,

    I am currently on Sky Broadband and i believe it the connect package, allows up to 8Mb, the router is syncing at 5.5Mb :)

    Early hours of the morning and day time the internet is fine, speed tests report close to 5Mb speeds so all is good.

    However after 4pm the internet is rubbish, do a speed test then and its reports back 0.5M's !!!!! what the hell not even a meg :eek: Its the same every day between 4 and midnight.

    Sky say there nothing they can do :( its just my exchange and the package i am on.

    Would cancelling Sky and moving to Virgin broadband help ? i am not in a fibre optic area so it would still come down the phone line. But with virgin would i get 5Mb speed all day all the time ???

    Thanks Ben
     
  2. TBirdUK

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jul 2005

    Posts: 2,537

    Location: High Wycombe

    Noooooooo!

    Dont go to virgin - I had exactly the same as you had with Sky - and its a known issue - albeit most of the time it was a ping issue but the download did drop quite a lot too - always 4pm till about 0100!

    I moved to ADSL24 which is much better - stable pings and decent, although a little slower (only 6.5mb) connection it is stable!
     
  3. mp260767

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2003

    Posts: 10,852

    Location: telford, shropshire

    as per tbird, had a mate on virgin (via phone line rather than cable) and he switched to o2 llu.

    look at your exchange on sam knows and see what llu packages they have available.

    i switched from non-llu o2 to adsl24 and pings are far better.
     
  4. BEN_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,929

    Location: Nottingham

  5. TBirdUK

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jul 2005

    Posts: 2,537

    Location: High Wycombe

    Think I'd either go cable (even though its Virgin) or ADSL24.
     
  6. mp260767

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2003

    Posts: 10,852

    Location: telford, shropshire

    have virgin comfirmed you can't get cable ?

    as samknows can be a bit behind if it doesnt get updates.
     
  7. BEN_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,929

    Location: Nottingham

    If i went with ADSL24 would i get the same speed all day then ?? like 5Mb even in the evening ???

    Skys good in the day time just at night its rubbish, 0.5Mb carnt do anything. I want to game (PS3).
     
  8. TBirdUK

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jul 2005

    Posts: 2,537

    Location: High Wycombe

    Check which of the closest is your main hub, then keep an eye on it for a couple of days - thats how I checked mine - I get fully stable download and pings at all times.

    use this to check your closest hubs

    http://noc.enta.net/21cn-interconnect-status/
     
  9. Sonea Fifer

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2006

    Posts: 6,725

    Location: On the forest moon Endor

    If you're on the Connect package with Sky then they're basically providing your broadband service using BT's equipment in a BT exchange, as opposed to Sky's equipment in a BT exchange (unbundelled). Because of this BT are "throttling" the ADSL signal in order to provide a fair service (speed) to all the customers connected during peak times. This is why you're speed is dropping.


    That's true - Sky dont own the equipment in the exchange and have no say over how it's run. As I understand it Virgin apply the same process on their Cable broadband service as well - I'd advise looking into whether that would affect you should you decide to make the move from Sky BB to Virgin.