1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LED Lights - Quick Question.

Discussion in 'Case Central' started by AFK_Matrix, 16 Jun 2006.

  1. AFK_Matrix

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,496

    Location: Crawley, WEST SUSSEX

    Not sure if this is the right section but here goes. I am wanting to get some 5mm led lights to do a mod, but how are these powered? Is it 2 wires that u attach to something, what do i connect them to the mobo or the psu?

    Thanks
     
  2. Day03

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 May 2006

    Posts: 398

  3. musicman53

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 400

    Location: Chepstow, Wales

    He was talking about LED lights, not LEDs.
    LED lights as in the ones you power off of USB if external or off the PSU via a step down box(12 to whatever)if internal.
    LED light being those striplights you can put inside or outside your case....
    as in Antec ones....
     
  4. KnightStalker

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Apr 2004

    Posts: 5,540

    Location: Doncaster, S.Yorks

    Yes and what he said was for LED lights, not the strips, please take to understand what your reading next time
     
  5. musicman53

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 400

    Location: Chepstow, Wales

    EXCUSE ME
    LED lights are NOT LEDs
    LEDs are small round, square or whatever shape and have two wires and are powered from whatever power source via a resistor.
    There are 3 and four wire LEDs also.
    LED lights are a different thing...
    AND for you information I DO UNDERSTAND what I read.
    AND what I said goes
    as LED lights can be the strips
    OR not
    AND are and can be powered via USB(or a psu) if EXTERNAL
    and via ANY form of power reduction circuit if INTERNAL.
    HE said LED lights as in 5mm and that is all.
    I was saying WHAT LED lights are.
    Have you ever seen 5mm LED LIGHTS?
     
  6. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    Wow, calm it down musicman53 we don't want to get this closed as it wont help the OP.

    LED lights can be bought individually but have their own casing if I am thinking of the right kit, they are brighter than LED's and are more like bulbs in their output?
     
  7. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: 12 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,107

    Location: UK

    calm it down please, i don't want to have to close the thread.
     
  8. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    We could do with the OP clarifying what he's after. But im guessing he means individual LED's which could be powered off a modified molex lead with a resisitor depending one the amount of lights you have and the power of those lights. Have a look for the 'illuminated cd drawer' thread, as the use of LED's is expained quite well in there.

    Edit; This thread http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17579429&highlight=illuminated
     
  9. musicman53

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 400

    Location: Chepstow, Wales

    Some people call LEDs LED lights.
    I was into electronics way back and was always messin around with LEDs, sound to light and all that...
    so to me LEDs are the ones I said about(5mm)that can be tri color, bi color or single color and use a resistor to drop voltage...but there are ones with built in resistors...
    LED lights can be the strips, single, double....it's how they are listed or called or described by whoever...
    Anyway,
    I gave up on faffin around with those long time ago.
     
  10. Mark A

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 18,015

    Location: Lancashire

    How would you connect an led to the mobo?, if you mean the power led on the front of the case, yes this can be replaced quite easilly. I changed the 5mm led on my Lian Li case to blue and took about 5 mins. If its for something else you can quite easily use the psu to power them.

    Mark
     
  11. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    You could in theory just use any spare fan headers on the mobo.
     
  12. AFK_Matrix

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,496

    Location: Crawley, WEST SUSSEX

    Hi,

    Sorry for not being more descriptive and I didn't want to start an argument, and I really don't want this thread locked!! I am new to all this modding and just wondered how to power these as the website I found them on didn't have any info on wether they had a power connector or just had wires etc.

    Basically the light is described as this on the website:

    5mm Blue LED (1000mcd, 3.3v)

    Image:

    http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/787/5mmled4xt.jpg

    I have looked through Yewens brilliant sticky for modding and seen the part about LEDs and connecting them to a 4060 cmos chip. Are these chips easy to get hold of or should I just wire up a molex. If I wire up a molex I assume I need a resistor as the LED will get fried without it. If you point me to a website that talks about what resistors I will need then that would be helpful. Will be needing 2-4 of these 5mm lights not sure on the exact number yet. And i might not even need them but am still interested in how to hook them up.

    Hope that gives more info and please excuse the noob questions.
     
  13. Day03

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 May 2006

    Posts: 398

    From this description (5mm Blue LED 1000mcd, 3.3v) it looks just like a normal LED. The picture could be just anything :)
    The PSU gives 12V from a molex connector. If you put few LEDs in a series which total forward voltage is 12V then you will not need a resistor. If it's over 12V you still will not need resistor but the brightness will go down. Here is a link to a website where you can calculate what resistor you will need http://www.hebeiltd.com.cn/?p=zz.led.resistor.calculator
     
  14. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands


    7 and 5 volt can also be pulled from a normal molex connector, so that opens up a few options as well.
     
  15. AFK_Matrix

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,496

    Location: Crawley, WEST SUSSEX

    Good point Messiah, I could do 7v and wire up 2 of those things. Will keep this in mind and thanks for all the help folks.
     
  16. Mark A

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 18,015

    Location: Lancashire

    Lets end the arguing folks, this was all cleared up a few posts up. Good point messiah khan, there is a guide on how to do this in the sticky i believe. AFK_Matrix what is the mod you are thinking of doing?, if you dont mind me asking.

    Mark
     
  17. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    It doesn't matter who said what now.. just leave it. No more OT posts after this line;
    ________________________________________________________________
    ;)
     
  18. Freefaller

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 5 Jun 2003

    Posts: 87,236

    Location: Falling...

    Back on topic now please.