1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

limited or no connectivity.... HELP!

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by _Jimlad_, 31 May 2006.

  1. _Jimlad_

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jun 2005

    Posts: 19,567

    Location: Southampton

    ok just around someones house, i have installed a SpeedTouch 580 wireless adsl gateway. it works fine on the pc. It's an AOL reday one (yeah i know AOL) i have set a 13 key password and fired up the laptop. It see's the wireless network and asks for the key. It takes the key and after mumbling about aquiring the network addresss, i get a 'limited or no connectivity'

    any quick fire ideas guys?
     
  2. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Got the key wrong, entered the wrong type of key, using WPA on a machine that won't do it?
    Limited or no connectivity just means it didn't get an answer from a DHCP server (ie the router). It isn't particularly meaningful on its own.
     
  3. hybrid

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,312

    Location: Newcastle

  4. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Just a shame it's a totally different problem though...
     
  5. hybrid

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,312

    Location: Newcastle

    Not really ;)

    If you have installed Windows XP Service Pack 2 and are experiencing any of the following symptoms, this bug is affecting your system.

    After installing Windows XP SP2, your network connection reports a problem with "Limited or No Connectivity"

    You have trouble connecting to the Internet or your local area network after installing Windows XP Service Pack 2.

    Your network connection gets stuck "Acquiring IP Address"

    Enjoy!! :)
     
  6. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Er, absolute rubbish. If you switch off the DHCP server at the other end (or block access to it), you'll get that error, and that certainly isn't a Windows bug...
    Try reading the article you're linking to for a start:

    If you're trying to connect a wireless device to 127.0.0/24, you've got bigger issues.
     
  7. hybrid

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,312

    Location: Newcastle

    haha well lets just see shall we?!

    I've applied that patch on about 4 machines so far with exactly the same problem and guess what... it fixed it. :)
     
  8. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    I haven't on umpteen, and er guess what, haven't seen an issue...