1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

linksys WRT54GS probs

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by SameSuspect, 1 Aug 2006.

  1. SameSuspect

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 711

    Location: Suffolk

    a m8 of mine cant play games on the net and is getting dc alot.

    his about to splash out on a brand spanking new dlink "gaming router" which i thinks pointless.

    he's using the following

    linksys WRT54GS which he connects to an adsl modem
    and he's using a Belkin 54Mbps Wireless USB 2.0 Network Adapter to connect from his pc to his router.

    i dont know s*** all about this sort of stuff and naw does he so i thought id ask you boys. would apreciate any feedback, thanx
     
  2. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    In what way is he getting disconnected - from the internet or from the network (ie the wireless adapter loses the connection)? Is it the same wired to the router? Is it the same without the router there?

    Splashing the cash without going through some kind of troubleshooting process certainly is pointless.
     
  3. SameSuspect

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 711

    Location: Suffolk

    he says he gets lag bursts. then gets dc from servers, not from the net i dont think.

    his mate who lives next door connected to his router using a pci card and says it did the exactly the same thing
     
  4. Th0nt

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 12,355

    Location: N.Ireland

    What version firmware is he using? He could change this to see any improvements or use a third party source like sveasoft's.
     
  5. SameSuspect

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 711

    Location: Suffolk

    he's using the latest formware version.

    I cant think what it could be, maybe something near the router is messing up the connection? like a tv ariel or something :confused: :confused:
     
  6. Ashman UK

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Jul 2004

    Posts: 371

    Location: Gateshead, United Kingdom

    Actually i have one of these wireless routers and have january's firmware installed(1 50.5) on it and i have downloaded a newer firmware version (1 50.8) but its from the u.s site not the uk site. Should i not upgrade to the u.s firmware file or should it be fine?. If not ill leave it alone, just wasnt sure if the firmware file being u.s or eu matters or not.
     
  7. SameSuspect

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 711

    Location: Suffolk

    you have any problems whilst playing games with the router?
     
  8. Ashman UK

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Jul 2004

    Posts: 371

    Location: Gateshead, United Kingdom

    Well i only play on xboxlive for online games and thats rarely these days and dont play anything online on pc anymore. Two odd years ago though i used to play quake 3 arena alot on the pc and at night times id get "lag spikes" where my ping would fluctuate and found after ringing ntl(thats another long painfull story i dont want to go into!!!.) that playing at peak times..(i.e. in the early evening..) was affecting my own internet connection somewhat. So they had to do some local work on the local servers after awhile and rebalance the local area network or somit like that etc.
     
  9. SameSuspect

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 711

    Location: Suffolk

    well hes just bought a new router, netgear WGR614 and its giving him the exact same problems

    if any, what settings do you think could possibly be cuasing the lag spikes and high pings

    he has 1mb broadband
     
  10. SameSuspect

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 711

    Location: Suffolk

    his new router cost him £50, is it true you can refund within 10 days of purchase??