1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

looking at t.v card a few questions

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by adbp1, 21 Oct 2009.

  1. adbp1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Dec 2007

    Posts: 2,054

    Location: Oxonfordshire

    hi, im looking at a t.v card to go inside my pc soon to be htpc, now i know you can watch t.v record t.v etc but other than the card it self what else do i need.

    any recommendations on a t.v card that will give more than my freeview currently built into the lcd tv.

    budget im not sure as i dont know what i should be spending, but id say around £60 ish, more if its the dogsnuts!

    thanks Ali
     
  2. jbloggs

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,961

    Location: NI

    For Freeview the Terratec Cingery 2400i DT is pretty good, this will work in Win 7 MediaCenter, or you could use it with the Terratec HomeCinema or any other 3rd patry software, (if you do decide on maybe going with Freesat then the Hauppauge WinTV Nova HD S2, this also works with Win 7 MediaCenter, although I have used it with DVBViewer).
     
    Last edited: 21 Oct 2009
  3. ETNiES

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Sep 2009

    Posts: 569

    Location: Dublin

    Do you get more channels with different cards? Always wondered about these.
     
  4. adbp1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Dec 2007

    Posts: 2,054

    Location: Oxonfordshire

    ok so the freesat looks good.
    but what else do i need? big dish on side of house,tiny ariel on wondow ledge.
    how do i actually receive the pictures.

    btw planning on using mediaportal.
     
  5. slowrunner

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Dec 2007

    Posts: 708

    Location: hull, East Yorkshire

    Freesat - you'll need a dish (a second-hand sky one will work apparently?) and will have to point it in the right direction.

    If you stick to freeveiw all you need to do is connect a normal aerial to the tv card.
     
  6. Audigex

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,238

    I've got a hauppage card and it's ridiculously easy.

    Plug the aerial in the back, plug the infra-red remote reciever into the back. Open media centre and click "find channels" - 5 minutes later you're watching and recording TV.

    It really couldn't have been much simpler.
     
  7. adbp1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Dec 2007

    Posts: 2,054

    Location: Oxonfordshire

    hmm freesat sounds out the question for now, so guess i will go for freeview.
    will prob be going for antec fusion remote case, so is there any cards that can use the IR on the front instead of plugging in their own IR.

    im guessing i need digital freeview due to the change over.