1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

M-audio DELTA 1010LT

Discussion in 'Music, Box Office, TV & Books' started by Andr3w, 8 May 2006.

  1. Andr3w

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 19,637

    Location: England

    Hey,

    I have the oppotunity to buy this sound card from my driving instructor for £25

    Its the "M-audio DELTA 1010LT"

    I know NOTHING about this type of stuff so i was wondering if this is any good? Im going to use it to obviously record my guitar onto the computer.

    http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Delta1010LT-main.html

    If you look at this link beliw
    http://www.dolphinmusic.co.uk/page/shop/flypage/product_id/1161

    You can see an image of the card with LOADS!!! of connectors, which of these is for what? lol
     
    Last edited: 8 May 2006
  2. philio16

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 158

    Location: Manchester, UK

    If it works, that alone would make it worth buying :p Looks like a bit of a pro card but I should imagine it'll play your mp3s :)
     
  3. starscream

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 8 Mar 2003

    Posts: 4,055

    Location: Looking at the internet

    I would bite his hand off mate!

    I have the 4 in/4 out version of that - http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Audiophile2496-main.html which cost me over 60 notes new, so you are getting a load more inputs/outputs and by the look of it, you can also take mic's via XLR without have to go through a mixer.

    If you get into cubase, you'll find those MIDI ports really useful for VST's in future.

    Bargain!
     
  4. Andr3w

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 19,637

    Location: England

    Ohh i think i may get it.

    How exacly would i plug my guitar in?

    Would it go straight from the guitar to the sound card? or though the guitar>amp>soundcard?
     
  5. SexyGreyFox

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Mar 2003

    Posts: 50,894

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    Buy it, quick.
    He obviously didn't know what he'd bought.
    This will be the basis of that digital studio you always wanted.
     
  6. starscream

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 8 Mar 2003

    Posts: 4,055

    Location: Looking at the internet

    Well I've got into plugging guitar totally dry via a mixer into cubase and adding the effects from there. The benefit being that you can change the distortion/effects etc without having to re-record the guitar.

    If you don't want to do that, you are best going through a V-Amp or Pod. With those inputs, if you have a decent mic and a decent amp, you could mic up the amp and go from mic > XLR.

    Don't even think about it though, get the card for that price and worry about it later!
     
  7. starscream

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 8 Mar 2003

    Posts: 4,055

    Location: Looking at the internet

    This is so true. As long as you have a fairly decent PC, you are laughing with that card.
     
  8. Andr3w

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 19,637

    Location: England

    i have a pretty good PC

    Im getting the card on wednesday (if he remembers to bring it to my driving lesson lol)

    How/where does the guitar plug into?Which lead, would i need one of those adapters, i think tis 1/4inch to 1/8th?
     
  9. SexyGreyFox

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Mar 2003

    Posts: 50,894

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    Its pointless asking now until you've got the card and manual.
    If not there is bound to be a PDF manual on the net somewhere.
     
  10. Andr3w

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 19,637

    Location: England

    Alright ill wait until wednesday,then ill post again with info
    Thanks :)
     
  11. TommoUK

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,161

    I've been getting into recording recently, and got a similar but much more basic one for about 60 quid, the same one starscream mentioned. Definately buy this, assuming it's working fine.
     
  12. Sic

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 15,365

    Location: SO16

    i've got an M-Audio firewire 410 external card, and the quality of it's amazing. i only use it with garageband and a crappy mic, but it does the job very well. lovely user interface, too. if you hadn't already gone for it, i'd be telling you to!! ;)
     
  13. Andr3w

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 19,637

    Location: England

    get it tomorrow :)

    When i start recording, whats some good programs to use? Ive heard of cubase before, hows this? Are you able to lay down pre made drum tracks with this?
     
  14. skinnyl

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Mar 2003

    Posts: 781

    the card is great i have been using one for ages..

    you can't easily plug the guitar in without a few dongles or microphones, the 8 ins on mine are plugged into my mixer, makes life a lot easier so i don't have to fumble about the back of the music PC.

    As far as programs go, Cubase is pretty good but by no means a easy program to use, takes a bit of playing before you start to get it. you can add audio/midi till your hearts content but you need VST instruments to take full advantage of midi.

    Logic is Mac only unless you can find a copy of Logic 5.5 which is PC compatable.

    Pro-Tools free is good (and free!) but only works under 98SE or ME :\

    if you want drums and other things i can highly recomend buying Reason 3. its like a virtual rack of gear when you Re-Wire it with cubase or newer versions of logic.

    edit: make sure you read up on channel 1+2s preamps and the jumpers involved to turn them on and off, depending on how you use it.
     
  15. Andr3w

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 19,637

    Location: England

    How would i go about plugging it in then? what adappter do i need to buy
     
  16. skinnyl

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Mar 2003

    Posts: 781

    basically, the first 2 inputs of the 8 have XLR ins (microphone cable) the rest have RCA's (like on a hifi). the first 2 will probably be too sensitive due to impedance issues (unless you play with the jumpers on the card).

    so the cheap option would be to get a Male RCA to Female 1/4" mono adapter.

    although if it was me, i'd choose a DI box and an XLR cable to go into the low impedance 1 or 2 XLR channel

    or again get some sort of cheapish (depending on budget) micrphone and an XLR cable.

    When you install it i recomend you get the latest drivers from www.m-audio.com. you need to install the drivers first, THEN put the card in. windows fill find something on boot and you tell it just automatically find the drivers and you're away!

    i tweaked my music PC using this website http://www.musicxp.net found that i helped a bit with freeing up resources.

    hope it helps. :)
     
    Last edited: 9 May 2006
  17. lozza23_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,536

    will need a preamp for a guitar signal, some sort of pedal etc will be ok.
    depending on the guitar of course, and how hot the signal it generates.

    good cards, and for the price, well worth it. bit excessive for your needs though I think.

    I have an m-audio firewire solo, needs a tad of preamp (the box has preamps in it, a 1010 doesnt!) to bring it up to line level.
     
  18. skinnyl

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Mar 2003

    Posts: 781

    well the 1010 has at least 2 mic pres on the first 2 channels, so you can plug a microphone in straight off. but it obviously can't provide phantom power.

    but i dont think that will be an issue here.
     
  19. lozza23_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,536

    they have pre's?
    I didnt know that. i mean, I know that all sound cards have "pre's" i.e. even onboard has got a 20db boost button, but i just assumed the 1010 was meant to work inline with some sort of mixer/preamp.

    live and learn.

    in that case you probably dont need a pedal or anything. just go straight into the 1010.
     
  20. Andr3w

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 19,637

    Location: England