1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mac Book Pro with windows

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dhjjessel, 16 Sep 2007.

  1. dhjjessel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: England's Green and Pleasant Land

    are these available yet?
    where can i get one? or when will they be out?
     
  2. mattyrigby00

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jun 2007

    Posts: 1,506

    theres a program for macs called bootcamp to run windows on them.
     
  3. Marcos

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,879

    Location: Bournemouth

    Does it reboot and run windows properly or is it a bit lame?
     
  4. dhjjessel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: England's Green and Pleasant Land

    is there not an official macbok pro that comes with windows?
     
  5. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    Yeah, all Boot Camp is is a package that guides you through partitioning and then burns you a CD of Windows drivers you'll need once you install. It works with Linux as well. If you don't need hardware acceleration of video then perhaps a VM would be more suited for you. Parallels is pretty amazing.
     
    Last edited: 16 Sep 2007
  6. dhjjessel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: England's Green and Pleasant Land

    so how doe parallels work - does it just run simultaneous Os's?
     
  7. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    It creates a virtual machine inside OS X on which you can run other operating systems. There's little hardware acceleration but everything else is very fast, thanks to VT found on Intel's newer chips. If you're not gaming Parallels is the way to go, IMO.
     
  8. Slogan

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,700

    Runs Windows/Linux within OS X.

    You can have it full screen or a small screen off to the side. It works pretty flawlessly although 2GB of RAM really is a minimum for decent performance.
     
  9. gumbald

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2006

    Posts: 9,728

    Location: 62.156684,-49.781113

    Are you expecting Apple to sell them with Windows on? They won't :)

    They're out now obviously, but if you're going to run an XP install, either through a VM, or native using Bootcamp, don't forget you'll need a license for it...
     
  10. dhjjessel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: England's Green and Pleasant Land

    ok...
    if i were to buy a mac book pro, it only has 2g ram. will that only be a bare minimum?
     
  11. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    A bare minimum for what? Running Parallels? Yeah, I'd say so. You'll have the RAM consumption of your system plus the RAM used by the virtual system as well. If you're talking about capacity IIRC the MBP can take up to 4 GiB RAM.
     
  12. gumbald

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2006

    Posts: 9,728

    Location: 62.156684,-49.781113

    Only? What are you expecting it to do?
     
  13. dhjjessel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: England's Green and Pleasant Land

    right so on a mac book with 2 gb ram, running parallels might render the system quite slow?
     
  14. gumbald

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2006

    Posts: 9,728

    Location: 62.156684,-49.781113

    How often would you be running Windows?

    Could you perhaps give more explanation as to why you want to run Windows? We've having to squeeze information out of you...
     
  15. dhjjessel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: England's Green and Pleasant Land

    ok well I am starting a physics course at imperial and am almost positive that the course will require a unix or windows system to do most of the work on. however, i want to have a macintosh to mix my music on
     
  16. gumbald

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2006

    Posts: 9,728

    Location: 62.156684,-49.781113

    You're thinking a specific piece of software? Perhaps you could find out what it is? :)
     
  17. dhjjessel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: England's Green and Pleasant Land

    no i reckon that most of the software, eg cad systems (i'll be learning the basics of c++), and other such software like applications that draw 3-d graphs etc will only be available on win/linux. i have emailed my department to ask if the software is available to mac systems, but i am pretty sure the answer will be no
     
  18. gumbald

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2006

    Posts: 9,728

    Location: 62.156684,-49.781113

    If you do need to run Windows, then the option of dual booting or running a VM are there then. If it's going to be something very RAM intensive, I'd suggest the dual boot so that it gets the full share of system resources rather than sticking more RAM in to try and compensate.

    When you're doing work, Windows and when mixing music, OS X :)
     
  19. dhjjessel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: England's Green and Pleasant Land

    thanks
    so i wont have too much trouble making my mac book a dual/triple boot system when i get it?
     
  20. dhjjessel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: England's Green and Pleasant Land

    i havent ever set up a dual boot before