1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MacBook and Windows MCE

Discussion in 'Linux & Open Source' started by Rambaud, 4 Aug 2006.

  1. Rambaud

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Apr 2003

    Posts: 1,978

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Can't see if this has been asked before.

    I am thinking of getting a MacBook, and MCE might be a better option for a Windows OS.

    Does it work? Is it a good idea, if it does?
     
  2. Fillado

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jul 2004

    Posts: 2,039

    Location: West Yorkshire

    :)
     
  3. Rambaud

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Apr 2003

    Posts: 1,978

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Thanks.

    Pity. :(
     
  4. tehgazza

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Apr 2006

    Posts: 146

    the only reason why mce cannot be used is due to the fact of the 2cds, however it is possible to combine the 2 onto 1 dvd, or even 1 cd at a push. However i have no experience of the drivers that bootcamp makes and mce, it might moan at the graphics drivers etc. but if you can live with it hey give it a go. plus as you all know cd1 is near enough/is xp pro sp2 anyway
     
  5. Rambaud

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Apr 2003

    Posts: 1,978

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Hmmm. Do I feel lucky? :)
     
  6. tehgazza

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Apr 2006

    Posts: 146

    i would say that the xp mce install is not the problem it is just if the bootcamp drivers for the graphics will make media center moan at them, although you dont know, apple may have left a suprise in the form of fully working mce drivers
     
  7. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 4 Nov 2002

    Posts: 15,454

    Location: West Berkshire

    The graphics drivers won't make the slightest bit of difference. So long as your card and drivers support at least DirectX 8, the MCE portion will work. Even if they don't, Windows will work.

    Besides, the Macbooks use ATI X1600 mobility graphics, and I'll put decent money on the likelihood that ATI drivers are going to work with MCE. :)

    PS - Mac Minis use the Intel GMA950 chipset, and you can use the bog standard drivers off the Intel site, and use MCE with that chipset. I know this because I have, on both counts (different PCs though as I had no need to try boot camp with MCE). :)
     
  8. Fillado

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jul 2004

    Posts: 2,039

    Location: West Yorkshire

    MacBooks use Intel GMA950 graphics, MacBook Pros use ATI Radeon X1600 graphics :p