1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Make FSX fly

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by eddtr1, 15 Oct 2009.

  1. eddtr1

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Dec 2008

    Posts: 21

    Hi all,

    Firstly I have a : -

    ASRock Conroe 1333-d667
    Dual core intel Pentium D 925 3000 mhz
    2 gig ddr2-667 SDRAM

    and a 4830 ati graphics card

    FSX and my computer in genreal is running slow - its starts out ok and then just slowley grinds to a halt!

    What can I do to quicken things up - can I just upgrade the RAM would that make a big difference or is it a CPU job!

    p.s I am running Vista 32bit

    many thanks guys!
     
  2. HazardO

    Underboss

    Joined: 16 Jun 2009

    Posts: 7,623

    Location: Cambridge

    FSX likes fast CPUs it's not so fussy about GPU power. An overclocked i5 would see a massive improvement. If you aren't up for replacing the motherboard, you could look at which quad cores your board might take (and whether you'll be able to successfully overclock).
     
  3. McstylisT

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 8 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,677

    Location: In Lockdown England

    Id look at trying to OC what your currently have a little first. You might get it safe @ 3.4ghz and could see the frame improvements needed to play it without jitter.

    If your looking to change things a little , see if you can pick up a Q6600 second hand for around £90. Should pop right in your existing build. Add another 2GB memory and your laughing ready to go.

    McT
     
  4. mrthingyx

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 3 Apr 2003

    Posts: 15,560

    Location: Cambridge

    RAM would be wasted as the rest of the system would be letting you down.

    I'd think about replacing the CPU: you can stick in any Core 2 Duo CPU based on the Conroe chip, but you cannot stick a quad core CPU into it.

    Look for used E6600s (seem pretty common at the moment): you won't get access to MM for another 225-odd posts, so look on other websites for used action.
     
  5. eddtr1

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Dec 2008

    Posts: 21

    Would one of these help?

    Intel Core™2 Duo E6600, 2.4 GHz E6600 OEM PROCESSOR

    Will that be much better for FSX?
     
  6. HazardO

    Underboss

    Joined: 16 Jun 2009

    Posts: 7,623

    Location: Cambridge

    Not unless you overclock it I wouldn't have thought. It will be faster at stock (2.4GHz) than your dual core pentium at 3GHz, but I wouldn't have thought it would be night and day.
     
  7. eddtr1

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Dec 2008

    Posts: 21

    alright i is getting the picture i am screwed! So what do i need to do to improve things! I can spend about 100 o 200! ill need a new motherboard and CPU? What do you guys recommend?
     
  8. Lanz

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Nov 2002

    Posts: 6,855

    Location: Romford