1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Max settings for a Venice?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by BigDom, 7 Feb 2006.

  1. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Hiya, I'm really starting to push my 3500+ Venice as used in my Project Red Alert and wondered what the top end of things like temps are.

    Current settings ( under prime95 test at the moment so don't knwo how stable ) are 237fsb with Voltage of 1.5V. So 2.6Ghz. 1.475V locked up fairly quickly under prime.
     
  2. littlekates

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Nov 2005

    Posts: 130

    wont mind knowing this also... :p my 3500+ venice is at cpu@2560/ram@213 (stable) temp idle is 31c full load is 44c-46c(max). 1.475v
     
  3. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    hehe I'm up to 1.525/237 and seems stable ( but hitting 50c under prime )
     
  4. mc_bob

    Banned

    Joined: 29 Aug 2005

    Posts: 1,553

    Location: Reppin' up North London

    My overclocks are in my sig. You may try wanting to run a smaller divider on you ram, may be causing the lockups.
    My 3200+ runs at 2.4 no problems with no divider. I dont hit over 40C temps, but thats because it in a usually cold area.

    MC_Bob
     
  5. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Ram's fine ( can't divider it but it's ZX G.Skill so can run to silly speeds ).
     
  6. mc_bob

    Banned

    Joined: 29 Aug 2005

    Posts: 1,553

    Location: Reppin' up North London

    What PSU are you running?

    MC_Bob
     
  7. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,662

    Location: London

    what do you mean? that the dividers don't work with this memory or?
     
  8. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Can't see any option to in the BIOS ( AN8 Fat1lty).

    I've slackend off the timings of the RAM to keep it happy ( set it to that that's reccomended for like 400FSB) so I will tighten it after.

    PSU is a Tagan 430W. She's running stable so far at 1.525/237 but want to know when I should get worried.
     
  9. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Ok she's been running a while under prime.. seems stable BUT I am a little concerned about the load temperatures...

    56degC max...

    This is meant to be a project where I'm trying to push her to the limits but is this getting a bit tooo far?
     
  10. iraiguana

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,592

    well for the A64 temps of 55-60 should be the max, if u start to go too high u will see it crashing and you should seriously think about getting more powerful cooling, eg artic cooler pro, scythe ninja or water if u want to go the whole hog. Otherwise good luck and sounds good if a bit warm.
     
  11. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,634

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    You really want to stay under 60 degrees and 1.6v on air. Anymore and it won't last long. :) If you are hitting 56 max I'd say your near your limit.
     
  12. littlekates

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Nov 2005

    Posts: 130

    my 3500+ max out at 55C. at the moment im runing @ 47 full load. with 1.475v :D
     
  13. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Thanks guys - sounds like your right as as I push past 1.5V and 233FSB things get warm and prime doesn't last long once I hit 55+degC.

    Currently running 1.5V/233FSB and topping at 48-50 but now trying to keep memory tight as I'm sure that's the current problem preventing higher FSB. (did a 5 hour no-Ram prime95 test which was fine but a test at same settings WITH ram failed).