1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Memory errors when using XMP

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Bobby Komitov, 16 Aug 2020.

  1. Bobby Komitov

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Aug 2019

    Posts: 4

    Hi all,

    I have troubles running my RAM at the listed MHZ.

    My specs are:
    CPU: Ryzen 3700x
    RAM: TEAM GROUP EDITION 16GB (2X8GB) DDR4 PC4-25600C14 3200MHZ DUAL CHANNEL KIT - BLACK/
    MB: MSI B450 GAMING PRO CARBON AC (non MAX)

    Having a lot of errors while playing PUBG, I have taken a look at the memory. To do this I used MemTest64 v1.0 to test various RAM profiles.

    First I tried with stock settings at 2400 MHZ - no errors
    Than XMP profile 1 - errors
    set the memory at 3200 MHZ - errors
    set the memory at 3600 MHZ - no POST
    use the build in Memory Try It from MSI at 3600 MHZ - errors
    use the Ryzen DRAM calculator and manual timings at 3200 MHZ - errors (I tried to increase the voltage a bit but still errors)

    So actually I only got it stable at manually setting it to 3000 MHZ and the game runs smoothly too.

    What would you consider to be the problem here, the RAM kit or the MB?

    OCUK also have a video about this kit, going as far as 4000 MHZ on a high-end board - https://youtu.be/r4Ssa-IR2Jc
     
  2. GregI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,152

    Just to be sure it's not the RAM make sure that you have command rate set to 2T and that Gear down mode (GDM) is enabled after setting XMP. If that fails the RAM has issues.
     
  3. Bobby Komitov

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Aug 2019

    Posts: 4

    I did as you said and it encountered an error within 25 mins.
     
  4. GregI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,152

    Most likely faulty RAM. Contact OcUK for a replacement.

    There are some fringe scenarios where there might be an issue with the memory controller on the CPU but unlikely. Someone else might be able to give a more accurate evaluation but the easiest one to rule out errors is replacing the RAM.
     
  5. GregI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,152

    Edit: Double post