1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Memtest86 a poor indicator of memory stability?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by joeyjojo, 4 Feb 2006.

  1. joeyjojo

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Dec 2005

    Posts: 5,519

    Location: Herts

    Hi all,

    Opty 148, 2x512 kingston value ram, dfi lanparty expert
    I was just playing with the crappy ram mentioned above. With the htt at 255, I thought I'd see if it was stable at a 9/10 divider (yeh I know, unlikely conisdering its value pc3200). Anyway, booted memtest86 from cd and left it for an hour with no errors. Loaded up windows and it wasnt stable (flickering screen, failed superpi and p95 etc). Tried looser timings and more volts, memtest still thought it was stable but windows clearly wasnt.

    Wierd that memtest, which is meant to be a reliable indicator of stability didnt detect any errors. Any thoughts?
     
  2. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,662

    Location: London

    Is the CPU being overclocked also? (255HTT?).
     
  3. joeyjojo

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Dec 2005

    Posts: 5,519

    Location: Herts

    Yeah, opty 148 @ 255x11 1.45V
    Im pretty sure its not the cpu though
     
  4. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    It can only be the CPU. memtest86+ is one of the best testers about. It's either the memory controller or the CPU.
     
  5. ukdave

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2003

    Posts: 280

    Location: UK

    aiii MemTest86+ iseven used by the pro's (Crucial Labs etc). The obvious solution is to keep overclock (memory) and drop CPU multi to have it at stock speeds, see what happens then.
     
  6. edger

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Jan 2004

    Posts: 445

    Memtest is a reasnoable tester but it is no substitute for prime etc. I still use it every time I overclock because by passing memtest it is highly unlikely you will corrupt your OS etc. But passing memtest is no guarentee that your RAM is stable, only the use of a variety of torture tests (p95 blend etc) can do that.
     
  7. ukdave

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2003

    Posts: 280

    Location: UK

    Agree, no-one torture testing app can be used to test for 100% stability. A mixture of memtest, prime95, superpi, 3dmarks, sandra etc are usually the most commonly used.
     
  8. YooEntSinMeROYT

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Dec 2002

    Posts: 2,911

    Location: Location: Location

    What about S&M as an good indication of stability?

    I've had 2x1GB sticks of Ballistix PC4000 pass over 10 passes of test 5 & 10 passes of test 8 in memtest86, pass 24 hours Prime 95, yet fail the memory test in S&M.
     
  9. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Dec 2005

    Posts: 908

    Location: UK

    Memtets needs to be run for a good few hours on test 5 or 8 then ill only consider it ok.,

    Ive even had it pass around 20 times then fail. A few hrs at least IMO. ;)
     
  10. YooEntSinMeROYT

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Dec 2002

    Posts: 2,911

    Location: Location: Location

    Well I've had it run tests 1-10 overnight no errors & yet S&M still failed the mem test.
     
  11. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Dec 2005

    Posts: 908

    Location: UK

    Oh yeah i agree that memtest isnt the final ok for stability as i can pass memtest yet still fail prime.

    The same with Super PI 32Mb i can pass that with my CPU yet still fail prime in seconds. I use them all and test with each and have Prime 12Hr+ as my final OC.

    Memtest is fine to get a idea before running windows and risk corruption.
     
  12. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,662

    Location: London

    I can fail Memtest and pass Prime95 *blend* :)

    Will have to check out this S&M though, gimme a link pls Google is giving me whips and stuff :p
     
  13. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Failing memory testers when memtest has passed is almost certainly a memory controller error and not the RAM itself.
     
  14. YooEntSinMeROYT

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Dec 2002

    Posts: 2,911

    Location: Location: Location

    Can that be remedied by giving the CPU a bit more voltage?
     
  15. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    It can be. Depends on the strength of the controller but usually a bit more vcore sorts it.
     
  16. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,262

    Location: Manchester

    so... what acctualy causes memory to b unstable when its been OC'd... what happenes to it when you take it too far? :S
    Rick
     
  17. joeyjojo

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Dec 2005

    Posts: 5,519

    Location: Herts

    Isteresting guys, thanks
    Btw, what is a sensible vcore for a 148 with storm waterblock and 120.2? I thought about 1.6 was the max for good water
     
  18. ukdave

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2003

    Posts: 280

    Location: UK

    Yeh that's about right, just make sure temps are not too high and crank that vcore up.