1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

messy networks lol

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by dafloppyone, 4 Aug 2006.

  1. dafloppyone

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2006

    Posts: 2,183

    Location: Amsterdam

  2. Sparky__H

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Aug 2004

    Posts: 2,069

    Location: Sea of Dirac

    thats what you get when you hire a contractor :p
     
  3. #Chri5#

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Feb 2003

    Posts: 6,980

    Location: Shropshire

    There's a real skill needed to make a good rats nest in a comms cab :D
     
  4. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,096

    Location: Normally in Bed Sleeping

    Brave man who does!
     
  5. V-Spec

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,698

    Location: London

    lol.

    The county council round here has its comms racks in lift shafts, and they're also really messy...
     
  6. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    looks more like they had a large rotation of perm workers.
     
  7. DJMK4

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2004

    Posts: 21,941

    Location: S.Wales

    tbh if you have quite a few racks then its fact that you can only keep it so tidy.

    Ours is big and we have loads of cables, but they are better organised than what they have, but i wouldnt say it was tidy
     
  8. hybrid

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,312

    Location: Newcastle

    I've just spent a week at work repatching our entire cabinets and planning for VLANs.

    What a mess on... worth it in the end though.
     
  9. BoomAM

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2003

    Posts: 16,214

    Location: Atlanta, USA

    Thats mental.
    I saw the first pic and almost laughed at how tidy it was. But as i kept scrolling, i realised how much worse it was than the one we have at work.
    With a load of the cables submerged as well!!!
    I wonder though, apart from the cable lengths & lack of tidying, does it work properly?
    The ones at work were setup poorly in an extremely cascading fashion between the switches, causing massive bottlenecks. I wonder if its the same situation there?
     
  10. Wyvern971

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 1,921

    Location: London

    Maybe we should have pics of our various comms rooms to see who has the messiest :p


    EDIT:
    O/T but how have you got your Sigs rotating BoomAM?
     
  11. bigredshark

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Jun 2005

    Posts: 9,516

    Location: London Town!

    Our internal one is pretty horrendous in terms of mess but it's very well designed in terms of the logical diagram. difficult to keep tidy!
     
  12. pdw8

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,603

    Location: Kent/London

    I have seen similar cabling to some of those pics, one customer suite in Telehouse was particarly bad as was a major banks data centre in The City.
    We also had one customer who spent over £10k to cable their suite to a very neat standard then made their local tech redundant.They then just used contractors when needed and the place is a total mess now.

    If anyone has ever been to Telehouse in Docklands then you know how bad the risers and underfloors are, in some places the floor tiles dont go level due to the amount of cables underfloor.
     
    Last edited: 6 Aug 2006
  13. BoomAM

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2003

    Posts: 16,214

    Location: Atlanta, USA

    With a php script on some webspace.
    I'd like to take credit, but my webspace does support php and i dont know php, so a member on here is kindly hosting the sigs for me, and designed the php script for me.
    :)
     
  14. bigredshark

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Jun 2005

    Posts: 9,516

    Location: London Town!

    i don't know which part you're in but our area (tfm71) is pretty good. not immaculate but reasonably tidy, unlike our racks...
     
  15. pdw8

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,603

    Location: Kent/London

    The worst one I saw was Genuity who my company bought out a few years back.I think it was TFM5 on the 3rd floor and it was pretty bad. Its now an moreless an empty room. MCI have a suite opposite ours in TFM4 and that was pretty messy aswell. The riser outside TFM4 was totally full so they built new ones and I remember seeing spray painted cables under the floor where it was so bad. When I was in Field Services I arranged contractors to put in over a hundred cables around the site and none were ever removed.
    Admittedly I have not been there for over a year as I left FS so it may have improved, I do miss the coffee in Bytes though :)
     
  16. Sone

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,671