1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Microsoft Account

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by foreright, 6 Sep 2019.

  1. foreright

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2005

    Posts: 454

    Location: Romford, Essex

    I have a MS account which I believe my laptop is already registered to. Because I wish to change hardware in the future, I now need to register my PC to a MS account in case I need to reinstall OS and activate it.
    Do you have to have a separate account or you log on to your existing one and register a second machine. Can you read what product codes and digital licence (keys) are on there.
    Is there another way to find what the digital licence is for a newly upgraded PC when it auto activated and the new product ID is different to the previous one I had for W&.
     
  2. Dave Burton

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Oct 2002

    Posts: 674

    I've used the same email and MS account on 3 pc's, not had a problem. Not sure how MS handle it their end, but people these days have more than one PC, so it's inevitable that this will occur.
     
  3. foreright

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2005

    Posts: 454

    Location: Romford, Essex

    OK so I can register the PC on the same account. I am concerned with the MS account as attempts have been made in the past (unsuccessfully) to log in. Because of that I always log out. My question therefor is, is there any reason why you cannot just register you machine and keep logged out permanently till you need reactivation or does having the MS account still pose any security issues.
    I'm trying not to be paranoid but seeing the activity on the account in the past is worrying. It wasn't an issue on my laptop as I don't trade / bank online with it, but I do with the PC.
     
  4. ns400r

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Apr 2004

    Posts: 3,580

    Location: UK, Near the middle......

    Just install Windows using a local account?
     
  5. foreright

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2005

    Posts: 454

    Location: Romford, Essex

    My OS is already installed and I want the key remembered as it is now on a digital licence. Will a local account do that?