1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Microsoft .NET Framework 4

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Broken Hope, 12 Apr 2010.

  1. Broken Hope

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 9,284

    Location: Nottingham

  2. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,960

    Location: LU7

    Thanks for the news. Is this the one that means that previous .NET builds aren't needed all together? As in no need to have .net 2, .net 3 and .net 3.5 installed at the same time.
     
  3. theheyes

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,945

    Location: Manchester

    There are no previous .net requirements in the listed system requirements, and I've just installed it on a fresh Windows 7 Pro VM without it mithering for anything else so I assume this is the case. Which is good.
     
  4. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,960

    Location: LU7

    Nice. :)

    Very. :)
     
  5. theheyes

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,945

    Location: Manchester

    The installer itself is very small, I assume it just scoops up what pre-requisites it needs automatically but I could be wrong.
     
  6. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,239

    Location: England

    i have an application targeted at net 2.0 and i tried it on a fresh XP SP3 install with just net 4 installed and it wouldn't work. :(

    [​IMG]
     
  7. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,740

    Location: South Coast

    On my x64 machine (up to date) the installer pulled down nothing and updated all files from the installer itself.
     
  8. Greenlizard0

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 15 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,189

    Location: Liverpool

    I think you'll still need all versions for e.g. games especially to work.
     
  9. wesley

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Jul 2003

    Posts: 7,495

    WHY cant they make ONE installer for every frameworks!!
     
  10. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,960

    Location: LU7

    Oh. :(

    Yeah. Come on Bill.
     
  11. PaulM

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Feb 2008

    Posts: 476

    They did that with 3.5 SP1, it installed 2.0, 3.0, 3.5, 3.5 SP1 but people complained the install size was too big, so in 4.0 they've removed all of the previous editions.
     
  12. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,239

    Location: England

    are you sure about that? it's 869kb. that's some serious streamlining right there....

    bill who? mr gates left nearly 2 years ago.... :p
     
  13. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,740

    Location: South Coast

    You downloaded the wrong .NET then because 4.0 linked in the Op is 48.1MB And extracted it's 237MB.

    [​IMG]

    MD5: 251743DFD3FDA414570524BAC9E55381
     
    Last edited: 13 Apr 2010
  14. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,239

    Location: England

    i had the web installer, serves me right for not clicking the linky in the first post. :p
     
  15. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,801

    Location: Parts Unknown

    It's getting stupid now, they should lump them all together, just like the dx9 updates

    Huge installer or websetup.exe
     
  16. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    .NET 2/3/3.5 were lumped together. You could simply install .NET 3.5 SP1 and get all the previous releases right down to 2.0, automagically. But people didn't like that. So Microsoft changed it in 4.0 so that this version starts off a new "branch" in effect.

    Long and short of it is. On a fresh PC, you'll want to install both .NET 3.5 SP1 and .NET 4.0. In order to run any .NET 2/3/3.5/4.0 applications.

    It's a darn sight better than Java's release schedule. Every other week there is a new release out with bug fixes, which installs itself into a separate folder on your PC!
     
  17. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,740

    Location: South Coast

    And lists each update in Add/Remove Programs!

    Strangely I cannot find .NET 3.5 SP1 or any other .NET listed in Windows Updates or Add/Remove Programs - even though I know it's installed!

    Probably hidden away after the last few Windows Updates or something?
     
    Last edited: 13 Apr 2010
  18. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,740

    Location: South Coast

    I don't believe you! I know all it does is make cheese.
     
  19. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,960

    Location: LU7

    He's still chairman. ;):p