1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Microsoft Security Essentials - Troject Detection - False negative?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by SkScotchegg, 18 Apr 2010.

  1. SkScotchegg


    Joined: 4 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,910

    Location: England - Leeds

    Hi there, this just popped up when installing a benchmark program from offical nvidia website:

    Just wondered what you think? the fact that its from offical nvidia website, should I just click allow in top drop down box and click apply action at bottom coz it cant be a real thread if its from nvidia can it?

    P.S. I got the Star Tales - Benchmark Demo at the top on this page: http://www.nvidia.co.uk/content/graphicsplus/in/download.asp

    Thanks in advance:confused:
  2. theheyes


    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,945

    Location: Manchester

    After a cursory look on Google it looks like a false positive, and other AVs have flagged it similarly. You should be ok to ignore this warning.
  3. OCdude


    Joined: 24 Feb 2008

    Posts: 2,705

    Location: Norway

    Do you have a link to your wallpaper please? :D
  4. Memphis


    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 12,204

    Location: Inverness

    Wouldn't a false negative be a positive? :confused:;)
  5. makamiso


    Joined: 15 Nov 2009

    Posts: 465

    Location: Bristol

    +1 and also that cool looking "evil" firefox symbol
  6. Smit


    Joined: 6 Mar 2003

    Posts: 6,227

    Location: West Lothian

    Might be worth informing NVidia about this and they should be able to do something about it.
  7. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,779

    Location: Wiltshire

    You also have Java and Adobe updates to install :p