1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mobo with a LOT of Sata's

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by sWiZzLe, 7 Jun 2007.

  1. sWiZzLe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,948

    Location: Maidenhead

    Im looking for a motherboard with loaaaaaaads of sata connectors, if there is one or i suppose i could get some pci cards.

    One of its main uses will be a duplicator and i think Sata's would work best for this.
    Needs to very upgradable and stable.

    Can anyone recommend me something?

    Cheers
     
  2. MeatLoaf

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,282

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    I think boards with the 680i chipset have 10 ports
     
  3. animeguitarist

    Associate

    Joined: 12 May 2007

    Posts: 90

    Location: North-East of England

    If your looking for SATA, you must first decide which type of SATA you are looking for. SATA/ SATA 2 for internal use or e-SATA for external use. e-SATA are used externally in which case you should buy PCI cards. However, for internal use I suggest buying a mother board with SATA 2 ports. SATA 2 is more secure than SATA and the data transfer speed is slightly faster.
     
  4. animeguitarist

    Associate

    Joined: 12 May 2007

    Posts: 90

    Location: North-East of England

    Sorry I forgot to mention this before, have a good search and have a good look at the motherboard you are buying because motherboards with loads of SATA ports have less PATA ports (ribbon cable ports) for things like CD and DVD drives. So take that into consideration.
     
  5. sWiZzLe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,948

    Location: Maidenhead

    I was thinking it would be best to use SATA CD/DVD drives because the problem with PATA is, you get some hang time when you insert disks. According to a friend, satas dont do that.

    Oh yeah and Sata 2's definately ;)
     
  6. Darg

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Sep 2006

    Posts: 6,231

    Location: London


    That hang time wouldn't be the fault of the IDE cable. It's probably just a newer more efficient drive. Also depends on if its a CD or DVD. For me CDs take around 10 seconds to spin up where as DVDs can be up in just a second or two.
     
  7. animeguitarist

    Associate

    Joined: 12 May 2007

    Posts: 90

    Location: North-East of England

    Nope, I would stick to what I said before. Most modern hard drives are SATA or SATA2 but not many CD or DVD drives are SATA, most still use the old PATA cables. ;)

    With regards to the hang time, this only usually happens when you use the same cable to link the CD/DVD drive and the hard drive(s) with the motherboard. This happens because CD/DVD drives process and send data at slower speeds than hard drives. SO, if they are on the same cable (eg. PATA ribbon cable) there will be some hang time.

    In conclusion, use a different cable for each of your drives and make sure that the hard drives use SATA2 or SATA if you cant find SATA2.
     
    Last edited: 8 Jun 2007
  8. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    The amount of time it takes to send the data down the cable is insignificant next to the amount of time it takes to get the data off of the disc.

    I'm sitting here installing 5 discs of WoWarcraft, and each one takes about 8 seconds to spin up on my SATA DVD/RW (sigged). The speed of optical drives is totally outstripped by the speed of the interfaces (even UDMA33). There's no requirement to choose SATA over PATA other than aesthetics really. My old drives dying was the reason I got my new one, and I chose SATA because I can see IDE going the way of s939, possibly before this drive dies.
     
  9. sWiZzLe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,948

    Location: Maidenhead

    What's the likelyhood of me finding a motherboard with 5 pata controllers on it :eek: One of my reasons for going with sata on this is that each drive would get it's own cable, wouldn't that be better?

    I have a new Optiarc pata drive that hangs for about 10 seconds, my hdd are sata so its all alone on the pata cable. Should it hang for longer period of time if the disk is empty?
     
    Last edited: 9 Jun 2007
  10. BUFF

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2006

    Posts: 2,883

    Location: Glasgow

    abit AB9 PRO has 9 plus 1 eSATA.
    probably the most that I know of on a common mobo.
     
  11. Buckster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Aug 2006

    Posts: 9,059

    recently bought a e-Sata external enclosure

    and I have a P5-B Deluxe mobo with E-sata on it

    is it normal that you have to reboot for the mobo/OS to find the Sata drive - just a bit of a PITA ? unlike USB2/Firewire

    Mark.
     
  12. Cob

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2006

    Posts: 18,206

    Location: Antrim town

    I *think* you need to be using AHCI to enable hot-swap. E-SATA is pretty much just a standard SATAII port.
     
    Last edited: 9 Jun 2007
  13. Buckster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Aug 2006

    Posts: 9,059

    thanks for that :)

    since I last tried - I went to Vista and as such enabled AHCI ...

    haven't tried since - so will later and let you know the result :)

    cheers, MArk.
     
  14. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 22,821

    Location: Guernsey

    I have 8 sata sockets on my evga 680i board....(6 int & 2 ext on backplate)
     
  15. megatron

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,261

    Location: Kent

    P35-DQ6 has 8 sata ports and 4 eSata ports on 2 brackets.
     
  16. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    The speed of the interface outstrips the speed of transfers to and from it so it doesn't make a great deal of difference.

    When you have a couple of zippy hard disks copying data back and forth mostly from their caches, that's when the added pace of SATA comes in.
    The classic IDE set up is:
    Pri Master: Hard disk C: (operating system)
    Pri Slave: Empty
    Sec Master: Hard Drive D: (Swap file and music/video - files that don't change much)
    Sec Slave: CD/DVD

    You will always have the time it takes to spin the disc up where the drive can't do anything. Even hard disks do this. If the PC goes into energy saving mode and powers down the hard disk, it won't be able to do anything with the disk until it has spun back up.
    This is what you mean by "hang time", isn't it? You're not saying the PC is totally unusable, are you? Because that isn't right, no matter what interface you're using. If you DO mean this, check you're using UDMA on the drive transfer mode tab on it's IDE controller in Device Manager.
     
  17. sWiZzLe

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,948

    Location: Maidenhead

    Ignoring this 'hang time' stuff.

    There will be up to 5 Optical drives and possibly 2 or more hard drives.
    For ease of build and upgradability is sata not a good way to go?

    Sata drives seem to be a lot cheaper than pata... im begining to wish i hadn't mentioned this hang time lol ;)
     
  18. animeguitarist

    Associate

    Joined: 12 May 2007

    Posts: 90

    Location: North-East of England

    yeah, PATA is about to be fased out. Plus, PATA ribbon cables, cutter up the inside of your case and make access to different things while ** building extremely troublesome.

    So yes, in terms of the build and upgrade ability, SATA is the way to go. Honnest get SATA drives, they are the way for ward. However, if you choose to ignore this and go for PATA, please, dont use normal ribbbon cables, use round ribbon cables, they are tidier and they make building and upgrade a heck of a lot easier. trust me my DVD/CD drive is PATA and i swapped the cable for a round ribbon cable and it made everything easier, i didnt have this bulky cable making things harder to upgrade.
     
  19. Lord Alibaski

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Oct 2005

    Posts: 1,098

    Location: Doncaster

    The GA-N680SLI-DQ6 (rev. 2.0) from Gigabyte as 10 SATA connections.

    GA-N680SLI-DQ6

    I've always wanted to get one of these boards myself ...just that I'm not willing to fork out another £180 on another board when im doing ok at the moment with my Asus P5B Deluxe....I will buy one of these though because I need more SATA connections myself I'm fed up of having to upload the drives when I want to plug a different one in.


    I've always wanted to know why OverclockersUK have never had these boards in, and why theres been not much talk about them on this forum.