1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Monitor has no signal after installing GPU driver. GTX 1660 super OC 6G

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Andrei Munteanu, 2 May 2020.

  1. Andrei Munteanu

    Associate

    Joined: 2 May 2020

    Posts: 7

    Hi,
    I think I will go crazy with this. So, I have an old desktop pc:
    Asus M4N68T
    8G DDR3 1333,
    AMD Phenom II x2 550 Callisto 3.1 GHz
    CIT 850UB 850W
    Gigabyte GTS 450 (old)
    Gigabyte GTX 1660 Super OC 6G (New)
    Win 10.
    So my old GPU died and as I want to build a new system I wanted to start with the GPU So I can use it in the old one untill I have everything together so I got the GTX 1660 Super OC 6G.

    I installed it in the PC, connected the 8 pin power connector. Switched the pc on, it passed bios, win loaded. All good so far.

    I tried to install the driver from the cd provided with the GPU but when the monitor should refreshed with the new resolution, it got blank saying no signal and the fans on the GPU stoped spinning. I waited for a few hours thinking something is going on in the background but nothing changed. I reset the pc and after the win 10 logo, the monitor goes blank again.
    I updated the Bios, nothing changed.
    Got in Safe Mode, device management and looks like the driver is installed. But for some reasons when windows loads the screen is blank. Tried uninstalling the driver, download the one from the Nvidia website. Nothing changed. I tried the one from the Gigabyte website. Nothing changed. I tried upgrading driver from device management after uninstalling the driver.
    Tried in power management to set it at high performance. Same thing.
    Tried win key+P , shift+ctrl+win key+ B on keyboard, nothing..
    I installed win 8.1 installed the driver downloaded from the Gigabyte support for win 8.1 the same problem.
    Everything I do, I get the same result , PC dies after win logo.
    Lately noticed keyboard is not responding as well. As Num LK led is on and if I press on Num Lock is stays on, and If I try Caps nothing is happening.
    I don't know if the GPU is faulty or the rest of the system is outdated but it meets the minimum system requirements.
    If anyone has any suggestions please let me know. Thank you
     
  2. Lemin

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jul 2009

    Posts: 3,098

    Location: Folkestone

    the psu is very cheap and nasty, may be that, or mobo too old.
     
  3. Andrei Munteanu

    Associate

    Joined: 2 May 2020

    Posts: 7

    Ty for answering. I will try the GPU tomorrow in a friends computer and hopefully it will be ok. I am just afraid the GPU is faulty and if I wait till next month when I am planning to get the rest of the new system it will be harder to return. Fingers crossed it will work tomorrow and is only about the rest of my old system that is messed up.
     
  4. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,690

    Location: Aberdeen

    Wow, that's a decade old.

    Let's try the very basics. The monitor cable is plugged into the GPU, right? Have you tried the monitor cable in other ports on the 1660? Have you checked that the BIOS of the motherboard is the latest (v1102)?
     
  5. Andrei Munteanu

    Associate

    Joined: 2 May 2020

    Posts: 7

    The monitor is connected to the GPU with HDMI. The GPU has 3 display ports and one hdmi.
    I ordered a display port cable to try different outputs.
    I updated the BIOS to latest version.
    It's an old system never had any troubles with it. System seems ok untill I start installing the driver for the GPU. During the installation the whole system freezes, monitor goes black and has no signal. After some time restarts by itself and I get the notification that recent modification had been removed as it was causing win 10 to malfunction. I tried the driver from Gigabyte, from Nvidia, win updater, Simple Driver Updater. I even tried the drivers for win 8.1 on win 10.
     
  6. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,690

    Location: Aberdeen

    Okay, you're doing all the right things.

    Hmm... have you tried another 8 pin power cable from the PSU?
     
  7. Andrei Munteanu

    Associate

    Joined: 2 May 2020

    Posts: 7

    It has only one.
     
  8. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,690

    Location: Aberdeen

    An 850W PSU should have more than one.
     
  9. Andrei Munteanu

    Associate

    Joined: 2 May 2020

    Posts: 7

    Ok so I have some updates..
    I tried the GPU in my friends system. I tried installing the driver from device manager updating video driver. During installation screen went black and had no signal but keyboard was working. After about 1 min, the signal returned to the monitor and got the driver successfully installed msg. So the GPU should work fine.
    I tried his 1050 in my system and works fine.
    So I guess it's my PSU.
     
  10. Andrei Munteanu

    Associate

    Joined: 2 May 2020

    Posts: 7

    Anyone can suggest a good PSU ?
    The new system will be :
    MSI MPG X570 GAMING EDGE WIFI
    RYZEN 3600
    Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 16 GB (2x8GB) 3600 MHz AMD Ryzen Tuned DDR4
    GTX 1660 super Oc 6G DDR6
    500GB WD Black SN750 M.2 (2280) PCIe 3.0 (x4) NVMe SSD, 3D NAND,3430MB/s Read,2600MB/s Write, 420k IOPS
    In time I will get to 32 Gb RAM
     
  11. alex h

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 4,401

    Seasonic focus 650 watt should do you or corsair psu look at length of warranty gives you a good indication how good it is
     
  12. Andrei Munteanu

    Associate

    Joined: 2 May 2020

    Posts: 7

    Thank you so much! I was looking at a Corsair but now Seasonic looks better with the 10 years warranty. Are they noisy ?
     
  13. Grimley

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Nov 2007

    Posts: 6,939

    Location: Deepest Darkest Essex!!

    Shouldn't be, the Focus range has a 'fanless mode' button which means the fan in the power supply will not spin when the power supply is under light loads when it is enabled.
     
  14. wookiee87

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Aug 2017

    Posts: 1,490

    Location: united kingdom, shropshire

    i wouldn't say the psu is at fault, more like the uefi of the gpu bios not being able to work with a legacy bios of such a old motherboard, tech yes city has had problems with this in the past and unfortunately there is no work around, either sell the card or upgrade your whole machine and use the 1660 super oc you have
     
  15. kully1972

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 May 2015

    Posts: 301

    AMD phenom Ii..jeez.
    makes you wonder why people think their rigs are compatible with new parts.
    if you bought ultra high end at the time I can understand but buying mainstream budget components will just give you approx 5 to 7 years service at the most.
    AMD phenom ii must be over 10 years old. Joke
     
  16. freddie64

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,950

    Not saying the 1660s is compatible or not, but am sure i read that Nvidia is compatible with legacy and uefi, whereas AMD need dual bios to support both bios types.

    Like i say, i don't know this for definite.
     
  17. wookiee87

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Aug 2017

    Posts: 1,490

    Location: united kingdom, shropshire


    i'd still say it's the newer gpu and the old mobo bios with what to op said about the windows logo showing during boot and then nothing, thats when the gpu takes over and if there are any issues with the hand off from the board the gpu will fail and you'll just get a black screen.
    safe mode will work as normal as the pc it put into a state that may allow things to work, just not under normal boot conditions.
    only way to find out is to install the gpu into another pc, or buy a older gpu (say 5 years old) and try that in the op's rig to find out whats what.

    the bios for the Asus M4N68T is a AMI type which is bloody ancient compared to uefi versions these days.

    is your board just Asus M4N68T or is it Asus M4N68T v2?, as the latter will support upto rtx 2080ti but no mention of the 16 series, link below

    https://www.pc-specs.com/mobo/Asus/Asus_M4N68T-M_V2/149/Compatible_GPUs