1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Monitor screen goes black

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by robinbredin, 21 Aug 2018.

  1. robinbredin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,504

    Location: Northern Ireland

    Has anybody suffered this problem with windows 11. When I install a program, and after it is installed it want to reboot. After the reboot the monitor screen goes black, to get it to work i have to reboot the system again.
     
  2. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Dec 2010

    Posts: 37,566

    Location: Welling, London

    Might be because Windows 11 doesn't exist ;)
     
  3. robinbredin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,504

    Location: Northern Ireland

    should have said 10.
     
  4. Marzipanogram

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jul 2010

    Posts: 1,115

    I experience similar on a regular basis, but mine isn't connected to installing software.
    Mine seems to be a "feature" of the Gigabyte graphics card. Maybe it's a Display Port issue.

    When you say your monitor goes black, is Windows still loading up after the reboot?
    And if you left Windows to fully boot up again, would the picture finally appear on your monitor, when you the desktop icons appear?
    That's what happens to me if I don't switch on my monitor and PC at the same time.
    If I start my PC, wait 10 secs and switch on my monitor, I don't see anything on screen, until Windows has fully booted.
     
  5. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Oct 2005

    Posts: 4,689

    Location: Earth, for now


    Woot

    Your post give me an idea. Many thanks

    For some reasons neither of my two monitors would wake up from Sleep in Windows 10. They are connected to my Gigabyte GTX 1080 TI card. I have spent ages going through various settings and drivers etc etc etc. I had sort of given up but then noted that they were both connected by a DP cable. If I change either one to another type, in my case I had a spare HDMI cable, then they will both wake up....!!!!

    It doesn't matter which monitor has the HDMI cable but the point is that they both can't have a DP cable for the sleep function to work, or the wake part anyway.