1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Monzo/Starling Banking/Revolut

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Junglist, 4 Aug 2017.

  1. beh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Oct 2003

    Posts: 2,176

    I feel a bit sorry for Curve getting caught up with Wirecard. Surely the end for them as it seems unlikely they'll be able to roll out their own system soon enough.

    Although perhaps only hastened their inevitable demise. Wasn't a particularly compelling offering, if I want to able to switch between multiple cards then google pay does the job. Didn't make sense to use it for larger transactions as you weren't covered by section 75, their own protections sounded pretty woolly. Allowing you to change your mind about which card was used afterwards always seemed a bit a pointless.
     
  2. pinkpound

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 1,920

    Yeah is a shame I only used for small contactless payments on my Galaxywatch using my Natwest card as that doesnt work with Samsung pay , Its back to starling then for contactless
     
  3. RobDogDog

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Aug 2011

    Posts: 1,415

    Fair FX (or equals as they're now called?), have blocked transactions for the time being as well. I have some money in the account left over from holidays - not a huge amount but enough for a few b&b weekend getaways with the Mrs - but I see some people over on Money Saving Expert have all their eggs in one basket.

    Hope it gets sorted soon.
     
  4. Yas786

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,902

    Location: All over the world...

    Exactly and as I said I think they saw this coming so started their migration before the **** hit the fan so to speak.
    I’ve got a bank account that I’m quite happy with at the moment.
    Curve just allows me to carry one card for all my cards. So don’t have to worry about carrying many cards.

    Like I said i like curve for the convenience.
     
  5. englishpremier

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Feb 2003

    Posts: 7,394

    Location: Europe

    This worked well with Supercard, and being a specialist travel card it made sense. With Curve I too can't really understand it unless you are trying to get AMEX points at places that don't accept it normally.
     
  6. pinkpound

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 1,920

  7. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 229,057

    Location: In the radio shack

    Not a chance I’d have one of those.
     
  8. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 14,588

    Location: Higher Walton

    I used mine earlier and it worked fine, so can confirm it's back up and working.

    It's great for me, i have a few cards i only use occasionally. My curve lets me use those when i need to without carrying the physical card. I also regularly make use of the "go back in time" feature. It's much easier than moving cash around accounts if i don't have the right card selected.
     
  9. Yas786

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,902

    Location: All over the world...

    Yep Curve is back up and running, most of their services are up and running except their time capsule thing where you can go back and charge a different card if you wish.
    Seems like they have pretty much gone away from wirecard completely. Got an email this morning explaining everything so happy days.
     
  10. Noxia

    Soldato

    Joined: 30 Dec 2010

    Posts: 7,493

    Location: Wiltshire

    Has anyone with a starling card had issues ordering from OCUK? My card always fails but it works fine if I use it via Paypal (card has been used elsewhere too). This happened on 25th June and today.
     
  11. Stu999

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Aug 2015

    Posts: 960

    Yes, doesn’t work. Must be blocked at the Starling end. I’ve used Amazon Pay on my last couple of orders.
     
  12. Noxia

    Soldato

    Joined: 30 Dec 2010

    Posts: 7,493

    Location: Wiltshire

    Ah ok thanks for confirming.
     
  13. Marky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Apr 2007

    Posts: 23,173

    Location: UK

    I am in the process of setting up my own business - Does anyone use these companies as their business accounts? Or is it typically a more sensible option to open a business account with a high street bank?
     
  14. randomshenans

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2009

    Posts: 11,742

    Location: France, Alsace

    Rev were offering free business accounts, not sure if they still are?
     
  15. Maccy

    Commissario

    Joined: 23 Nov 2004

    Posts: 36,871

    Location: Herts

    Mine's with Tide, who are brilliant.
     
  16. Marky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Apr 2007

    Posts: 23,173

    Location: UK

    Yeah there looks like there’s a free tier - the cheapest after that is £25/month - which seems quite expensive compared with others...

    Thanks, I’ll check them out - I’ve been seeing their ad pop up a lot recently actually :p
     
  17. Basher

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,816

    More shenanigans with Revolut who have now 'lost' an incoming international payment of mine. Once this is sorted I'll be ditching it.
     
  18. FirebarUK

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Dec 2004

    Posts: 5,604

    Location: Dorset

    This is because you need to use a particular code (wallet reference) in the outbound transfer. Apparently it's to do with them receiving the money into a central pot and then needing to know where to route it (i.e. whose account).

    p.s. you can find this under Documents > Account Confirmation.
     
  19. Basher

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,816

    Yep I did that. I used exactly the same code as a did the time it worked.
     
  20. Sho

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Sep 2006

    Posts: 4,580

    Location: Oldham

    I just recently opened a Starling account. How easy is it to switch banks? Bank with Santander.

    Is there anything I need to be worried about? Do I need to do anything extra? Or is the process easy?

    Never switched banks before, hence why I'm asking here.