1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motherboard ram compatability problem

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Tical, 22 Jul 2006.

  1. Tical

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,020

    Having a strange problem with my mobo. Its a Biostar M7NCG 700 (pap (better?) make I know, but I was skint at the time), CPU AMD Sempron 2800+, 512mb DDR PC2700. It seems to have a serious problem regarding RAM, I bought a 1gb PC333 stick of ram the other day to add to the motherboard, when I put it in it shows in the BIOS that it is a 2gb and puts it up to PC400 and reboots the second windows begins to load. I've tried other RAM in my system along with the 512mb I currently have, but it blue screens as soon as windows starts.

    The system works perfectly with only 1 stick of ram in, apart from the 1gb I bought the other day. All the ram i've tried that didn't work with this motherboard works perfectly on another computer I have, so it isn't a memory problem. Also the other computer sees the 1gb as actually a 1gb with the correct ram timings and works fine.

    I'm no wizz in BIOS settings so maybe i've missed something? The ram timings seem fine to me. The mobo I have has a known problem with recognizing some RAM, but i've downloaded the BIOS flash updates that (supposably) fixes this problem.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
    Last edited: 22 Jul 2006
  2. Tical

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,020

    [​IMG]

    RAM settings for the 1gb that refuses to work.
     
  3. Leporello

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Oct 2005

    Posts: 481

    Ram compatibility.

    I'm no expert on these things and know nothing about your board. However it is possible that your new memory is high density and your old low. Some boards will not run high density DIMMs.
     
  4. Tical

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,020

    Thanks for the reply. Had a bit more time to test it out. Tried it on another computer (new 64 bit athlon) and it just posted at me, 1 spaced out beep. As the computer works perfectly without that RAM I assume its a faulty stick.

    I did memtest on the computer that it works on and it finds around 20-30 errors per test and after extended use Windows blue screens.

    Taking it back tomorrow and getting it replaced. Hopefully I wont get a faulty one in return this time. Happened before :(.
     
  5. MattJones2k6

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Jul 2006

    Posts: 299

    Location: South Wales

    thats unlucky... only thing that happend to me like that was my old monitor blew after me using it for exactly 2 minutes :(